Finding summer camps for the kids

Last year, I signed Jase up for a summer camp. It would have been a half day, week-long camp full of science experiments. I say, “would have been” because the camp was canceled two weeks before it was set to go. They did not reach the minimum number of participants.

This summer we signed him up for Lego Star Wars camp. Again, the same thing happened. The Thursday before camp they called to say it was being canceled. They offered other camps as an option, but he wanted a Lego camp.

Luckily, I knew that the Bricks 4 Kidz company was also putting on the same camp at their own location in July. (The first one was scheduled through a church’s summer program.) The only problem was that this camp was the same time as Lexie’s camp.

Now I hadn’t planned to sign Lexie up for a camp at all this summer but when I was going through the church’s brochure on camps, I found the perfect camp for her. Frozen summer fun! Yes, it was a camp filled with activities based off the movie Frozen.  Music, games, crafts and even a snowball fight are planned. She will love it!

I can’t say how the kids are doing in their summer camps as they just started today. But I am excited that they are going to them. Lexie was a little nervous about signing up for camp as she declared she didn’t want to be away from me. However, she has attended both preschool and kindergarten with no problems, so she should be fine.

Last year, I did sign both kids up for some half-day camps offered by the Little Gym where at the time Lexie was taking a combo dance/gymnastics class. Though the camps were designed for kids up to age 8, Jase was often the oldest kid there. He still had a great time, and it was awesome that the kids could do these camps together, but I knew it would only work that one summer.

So today, my husband dropped Lexie off on his way to work. He will also be picking her up at noon. I get the job of taking Jase to his camp, which of course is in the opposite direction. With camps at the same times and in different locations, I would never be able to do this without my husband’s help. Basically, the options were he take one kid to a camp or Jase again misses out on his camp this summer.

I am pretty sure we will look for some half-day camps next year for the kids. We might even consider a full-day camp for Jase if he wants to try one. I don’t know if they – or I – am at all ready for them to stay overnight at a camp. But I can see that coming in the future too.

Leave a comment