M is for Maleficent #AtoZChallenge

For the A to Z Challenge, I have chosen the theme of antagonists.

On my normal blogging days, Monday – parenting and Thursday – writing/publishing, I will tie that day’s topic to antagonists but on the other days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I will write about antagonists from movies, TVs or books. On Wednesdays, my Quote of the Week will be from an antagonist that matches the letter of the day. Enjoy. 

M is for Maleficent, the main villain in Disney’s Sleeping Beauty (1959). She is the “Mistress of All Evil” who curses the infant Princess Aurora at her Christening. She proclaims the princess will prick her finger on a spinning wheel and die before the sun sets on her sixteenth birthday.

Maleficent isn’t happy with just seeking revenge for not being invited to the christening. She later makes sure the curse takes place and even captures Aurora’s true love Prince Phillip so that he cannot break the curse. In her final battle, she transforms herself into a huge dragon.

Disney presented Maleficent as a good-hearted by tragic fairy in a 2014 live action version of the tale starring Angelina Jolie in the title role. While I liked this film too, the animated version is one of Disney’s most sinister villains.

And in case you want to check out my other antagonists from the challenge…

A is for Apocalypse

B is for Bad Boys (parenting)

C is for Cruella de Vil

D is for Darth Vader (Quote)

D is for To Die for Cake (Recipe)

E is for Evil (Writing)

F is for Freddy Kruger

G is for Gollum

H is for High School (parenting)

I is for Iron Monger

J is for Jafar (Quote)

K is for Killers (Writing)

L is for Loki

3 thoughts on “M is for Maleficent #AtoZChallenge

  1. Great post on Maleficent While I liked the softer side of her shown in the new film, I definitely like the much more sinister and scary version in the original Disney film.
    Today on my A-Z of my Favourite Things, M is for Museums.

  2. Ooh, Maleficent is such an iconic villain! Even just the way she’s drawn, all sharp angles and deep colors… the viewer knows immediately not to mess with her!
    operationawesome6.blogspot.com/

  3. Nice to about the character… nice theme..

    My M for ‘That Mysterious Lady’
    LINK

Leave a comment