Introducing Another World Cards – custom birthday invitations #etsy

This month I opened my own shop – Another World Cards – on Etsy, the online marketplace for people who make, sell and buy unique goods.

frozen1For the past four years, I have designed my kids’ birthday invitations. In November (and the previous November), I created an invitation for a Christmas party I was throwing. I love doing this type of design work. And that made me think that perhaps I could sell these invitations to others.

With that in mind, I began looking at Etsy. After reading many blogs about setting up your own Etsy business – including the pitfalls and tips on pricing – I decided I would give it a try.

GOTGI had six cards already designed so I decided to make 22 more. I ended up creating 14 girl-themed and 14 boy-themed invitations to start my shop. Since then I have added about a dozen more and have a few more in the works.

Now the invitations I make are designed to be printed on photo paper. It only costs about 18 cents per invitation at the one-hour photo processing center at Wal-Mart to print them.

Last year, I spent $3.50 for Lexie’s invitations. The last time we invited all of Jase’s class it cost $5.20. And the best thing is they are custom invitations featuring whatever character my kids are really into at the time.

MLP Equstria girlsSo if you are planning a kid’s birthday party, and you want your own custom-designed invitation, please take a look at my Etsy store.

Each invitation is $7.99. This includes type-setting and making any font or font color changes. On some of the invitations, the background color can also be changed to make the invitation uniquely yours. A proof will be sent to verify the invitation is perfect before sending the final jpg file. It is then up to the client to print the invitation at whatever photo lab they want or to print them at home.

Lego SpidermanAll invitations have been printed (at Wal-mart’s 1-hour photo lab) to ensure they look as awesome printed as they do on the screen. They do tend to print a little darker than they appear on the screen.

And if you are looking around and don’t see a character that you want, let me know. If I have the time, I may be able to design an invitation around that character.

So please, head on over to my store and check them out. Thanks!

One thought on “Introducing Another World Cards – custom birthday invitations #etsy

  1. Joan Lindgren says:

    Very cute. Always looking for creative ideas.

Leave a comment