Authors: Just stop the unsolicited advertising emails

You open your email and see 12 new messages. Scanning the subject lines, you note quite a few are unsolicited emails.

Highlight. Delete.

That is my solution.

It is incredibly easy to get on everyone’s email list as so many companies ask for your email address today. And by giving it to them, they seem to think you are giving them permission to email you tons of advertisements.

But there is another group that also seems to find no problem in sending unsolicited emails – or in the case of Twitter sending direct messages (DM) that are nothing but a pitch to buy their book. Yes, that group is authors.

I really can’t speak for others but sending me an email or DM about your book is NOT going to make me buy it. In fact, I often delete these messages without a second thought. (I received one from someone on Goodreads even as I wrote this blog. Delete – well, delete after saving a copy to be included with this post.)

emailIf I signed up for your emails or newsletters, this is fine. But just because I hosted you on MY site, doesn’t mean I want to hear about every new achievement. I host many authors whose books do not interest me at all.

Now I am all for promoting with e-mail – as long as the messages are wanted. Before you put someone on your email list, you need to ask their permission. You shouldn’t just take everyone in your contact list and start emailing them. This is a good way to turn off potential readers.

If on your website, you ask for emails to add people to a newsletter list that is perfectly okay. They chose to receive that newsletter. Just ensure that there is a way for them to be removed from your list if they should decide to stop receiving your notices. (The Can-Spam Act actually sets rules for commercial emails and requires recipients have a way to opt out of emails.)

There also is nothing wrong with including your books or blog links in your e-mail signature line – you can even have testimonials, a line from the book or the title of your latest blog in the signature line. Of course just remember that some SPAM filters will weed out emails with too many links in them.

I also get plenty of DMs when I follow someone on Twitter. Most are just a “Thanks for the Follow” message but often there is a sales pitch added to it. “If you like fantasy, check out my book.” Let me tell you it doesn’t work. I simply delete the DM without a second thought. I know others who will unfollow you if you send out this type of message.

DMs shouldn’t be used as a sales pitch. They are for private conversations and relationship building – not for marketing. Sending a DM as a marketing pitch is the same thing as those SPAM emails and will certainly get you ignored or unfollowed by many people.

I don’t have any statistics to back up my opinion that unsolicited emails and DMs don’t generate sales. But I know that no SPAM message is every appreciated or even read by me so if you are sending them out, please make sure I am not on your list.

 

 

Leave a Reply

