Today’s Featured Author – Elona Washington

Today I welcome author Elona Washington to my blog. Her memoir, From Ivy League to Stripper Life, came out last year.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I was born in Washington DC & I currently live in suburban Philadelphia. I’m a mother of two, author and blogger.

What or who inspired you to start writing?

I used to escape via reading and writing so I guess you can say my abuse inspired me to start.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve considered myself a writer since I was a child. I considered myself an author when my first book was published April 2015.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

 

I write full-time and Uber for additional income. I write in the afternoon in between driving shifts.

What is the best thing about being a writer? The worst?

I love the freedom but hate the minimal pay.

What fuels you as an author to continue to write?

Helping others heal inspires me to write.

What inspired you to write this book?

It’s my memoir and I wanted it to show how child sexual abuse shaped me.

Can you tell us a little about the black moment in your book?

I explain how my cousin first abused me at 5 in DC. I relocated to NJ and was abused by my best friend’s brother and his friends. He told me that if a boy wanted to have sex with me, I was supposed to let him.

If you could jump in to any book, and live in that world, which would it be?

Game of Thrones

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?

The library

Do you have an all time favorite book?

Perfect Peace by Daniel Black

If you could meet two authors, who would you pick and why?

Iyanla Vanzant because she is wise & Oprah because she’s motherly.

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

I love alternative rock especially Linkin Park.

Book Blurb

Did you envision a better life for yourself but you’re unsure where things went wrong? In From Ivy League to Stripper Life, Elona talks candidly about why her life spiraled out of control and the lessons she learned along the way.

Through childhood memories and true stories from the strip club, Elona offers tips and life lessons every wife, mother and single woman will find useful. In these pages you’ll discover:

* Why men frequent strips clubs.
* Why no woman should ever be called a ho.
* That it’s possible what you’re going through has been assigned to you.

The key to finding your purpose and improving your life, love and relationships starts with you. If you want to get your life back on track or impact the lives of others, this book is for you.

About the Author

A native of Washington, DC, Elona Washington is the Amazon best-selling co-author of two anthologies and a blogger for the acclaimed Huffington Post and Digital Romance. She’s made guest appearances on HuffPost Live, prominent radio shows and podcasts.

Elona’s most recent book, From Ivy League To Stripper Life, attained Amazon bestseller status in two categories the day of its release. Between these pages, she candidly discusses her life as a stripper, why her promising life spiraled out of control and the lessons learned along the way.

With an undergraduate degree from Howard University, Elona later obtained her Master of Science in Management from the University of Maryland University College. She’s a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and a mother of two. She currently resides in Philadelphia, PA.

You can purchase From Ivy League to Stripper Life on Amazon.

 

Leave a Reply

