Dressing up for Alamo City ComicCon 2017

For the fourth year, my family has attended the Alamo City Comic Con. This year it moved from the fall to Memorial Day weekend and was bigger and better than ever.

As always, this comic con attracts some big stars. There are really too many to list but here are a few of this year’s stars: Dave Bautista (Guardians of the Galaxy), Val Kilmer, Karl Urban (most recent Star Trek movies), Ian McDiarmid (Star Wars), Peter Mayhew (Star Wars), Dolph Lundgren, Rob Schneider, and Sean Astin (Lord of the Rings movie trilogy).

And as we did the last three years, we went ahead and got into the spirit by wearing costumes.

This year’s cast of characters….

Indiana Jones – My husband once dressed up as Indiana Jones for a video clip in a speech he was giving. So it wasn’t hard to decide to do it for Comic Con. Most of the clothes came from Goodwill. I added some make up to “dirty” it up. I ordered his bag, whip and hat from Amazon. He originally was going to 3D print his gun and make his holster but we ran out of time and ordered them from E-bay. The costume turned out great.

K2SO – The last two years, Jase has had my husband make him a costume. This year he decided to just buy one. Since he loves the droids from Star Wars, he decided to go as K2SO from Rogue One.

Pikachu – Lexie loves Pokemon so we bought her this cute Pikachu costume. Of course the weekend we receive it, she wore the gauntlets bike riding and tore one of them when she fell. My husband did a good job of patching it up. We replaced the hat that came with the costume with a Pikachu headband that was super cute. She decided that she needed yellow hair and red cheeks.

Lara Croft – I had been thinking about doing Lara Croft (from the Tomb Raider video games) for a while. Last year, I had a blast making my Suicide Squad’s Harley Quinn costume. Lara Croft wasn’t too hard to do. I already had a bag. My husband had the holsters and guns. I ordered the boots from Amazon and the wig from E-bay. The shorts were from Goodwill and the tank was from Wal-mart. It came together pretty easily and of course everyone knew who I was which is my main goal.

It was a great event, and we look forward to doing it again next year.

One thought on “Dressing up for Alamo City ComicCon 2017

  1. That looks like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

