H is for High School #AtoZChallenge

For the A to Z Challenge, I have chosen the theme of antagonists.

On my normal blogging days, Monday – parenting and Thursday – writing/publishing, I will tie that day’s topic to antagonists but on the other days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I will write about antagonists from movies, TVs or books. On Wednesdays, my Quote of the Week will be from an antagonist that matches the letter of the day. Enjoy. 

For some high school was the time of their life. For others, it was a horrible experience that they would never want to live through again.

Yes, today is H in the A to Z Challenge, and I am talking about high school.

For me, it seems like a long time ago. This coming May will mark 27 years since I graduated. And it still feels far off for my kids even though Jase will be there in three years.

Of course, I do think about how it will be for him. The high school is so big. I don’t want him to be lost in the crowd. There are currently 2800 students there. This has him going from a class of 125 in his last year of elementary school to a class of 700 by the time he enters the high school in 2020.

And while Johnson High School is a good school, there are all the same dangers of any high school – bullying, cyber bullying, peer pressure, drugs and in general teenagers making poor decisions.

I was never a party girl in high school. I didn’t try drugs. I wasn’t bullied. I do remember not feeling like I fit in at times, but I had a close-knit group of friends. We hung out. We drove past boys’ houses. We had fun, but I don’t recall anything dangerous or crazy. We didn’t go to alcohol filled parties. We just had our own good times.

I can hope that these are the same experiences my kids have but times have changed. It is scary to read about the latest drugs kids take, the high pregnancy rates or the pressure on kids to succeed. High school is a time to learn and grow. And even “good” kids can fall to bad habits. I just have to hope and work toward making sure my kids don’t fall into that category.

And in case you want to check out my other antagonists from the challenge…

A is for Apocalypse

B is for Bad Boys (parenting)

C is for Cruella de Vil

D is for Darth Vader (Quote)

D is for To Die for Cake (Recipe)

E is for Evil (Writing)

F is for Freddy Kruger

G is for Gollum

 

 

2 thoughts on “H is for High School #AtoZChallenge

  1. Marna Reed says:

    My high school experience was the same: didn’t experiment with drugs, didn’t party, had several groups of friends (I’d group-hop :D), and I didn’t experience bullying. Sadly, not everyone passes through school as easily.

    I’m hate hearing stories about bullying (of any kind, physical or cyber) and I always swoop in and protect the victim(s). And it absolutely crushes my heart when suicide comes to play. No one should feel THAT unsafe, ever.

    Thanks for sharing, Susan.

  2. Eli Pacheco says:

    The first day of high school was scarier for me as a parent than either of my first two kids. I felt like we’d prepared them best we could, and this was life! It doesn’t take all the anxiety away, but it helps.

    ———-
    Eli@CoachDaddy
    H is for Halfway There

Leave a Reply

