Today’s Featured Author – Ey Wade

Today I welcome author Ey Wade to my blog. She released her companion novels Ribbons & Belle and Ismet’s Honor last year.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I became a writer because it is the only profession which allows me to talk to the ‘air’ and not be committed for insanity. Knowing me as a writer and author is like cracking an egg’s shell in the air and wondering how far the splatter will spread. Wait, that’s kind of like knowing me as a person. I’m like all over the board and always working on three to five projects at a time. I have no favorite spots to work and my view tends to be pointed at the keyboard. When an idea comes into my head I just flow with it. I haven’t been able to conform my writing to any specific pattern. I am more than often working on one story and the characters from another will just be dying to get my attention and I have to go into their world.

I tend to write in various genres from fiction to picture books. Using pen (same one for the past eleven years) and paper, laptop and as a newly favorite the word program on my cell phone. I have found I can write anywhere with that little contraption and my focus is intent. Has to be with those tiny keys, right? And then I just email to myself and copy past into my manuscript.

Before becoming a self-published author I followed the rules. Wrote outlines, character back stories, did the word counting, queries and everything. I even had an agent once. Unfortunately he was a horrible choice. Directed me away from Ballantine books (wish I would have known who they were then) who wanted The Perfect Solution and straight into the corrupt hands of Publish America. What a crock. After that fiasco I was so humiliated I couldn’t write. Fought and had my rights returned and now, I am back. From there, I published a several novels on my own, signed with a small publishing company for a while and now I’m back on my own as Wade-In Publishing.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

There is always something about me and my experiences buried within the novels.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

The next book to be released is titled Valerie. It is a book filled with tales of women and girls of all ages, races/ethnicity with one commonality- their name is Valerie.

Please tell us about your current release. My 2 latest novels are titled Ismet’s Honor and Ribbons & Belle. Both were released on June 2nd. I call them companion novels. They have some of the same main characters, but are stand alone and not a series.

RIBBONS & BELLE: Is about fertility counselor Tyson Ribbons. He’s secretly in love with embryologist, Anabelle “Belle” Lee. When she comes in for counseling he fights everything within him not to deter her from her plans. Even though he wishes they could start their own relationship.

Annabelle has had a rough marriage and heart breaking experiences with losses during pregnancy, yet she wants children. So, she follows a friend’s advice and decided to try IVF. Things, take an unexpected turn.

ISMET’S HONOR: Sunny Verdi Reyes, has always wanted the “good-life.”
Unfortunately, Sunny broke the heart of her fantasy years earlier and it would take more than wishful thinking to get him back.
At 17, unable to voice his opinion against an unwanted abortion, Ismet Honorable O’Neal ran from the girl who killed his dream of the perfect life and the white picket fence.
Now he spends his time aiding other men in being the voice in the lives of their children.
Years later, he returns and Sunny is waiting.
She’s going to need more than the love in her eyes to repair the fences.

The inspiration to writing Ribbons and Belle came from the controversy of abortions and the vitriol in which the women are attacked. People tend to over look the fact there may be medical reasons that make the ending of a life detrimental for the mother’s health. Ismet’s Honor was born after a beta reader finished Ribbons & Belle and wished there was a story about Sunny. I decided to make it more about the father and what his wishes may have entailed and how abortions also affect the father’s to be.

What kind of research did you do for this book? Ribbons & Belle required some research into the disease that caused Belle to have to make the choice for a late term abortion. I also learned of many support groups concerning rainbow babies and support for mothers losing their wanted child.

Can you tell us a little about the black moment in your book? In Ribbons & Belle, I think the darkest moments are the times Belle has to explain the reasoning behind her unwanted abortion. Three times, with three different reactions from the people she told. With Ismet’s Honor, it was the heart wrenching,anger and despair Ismet directed towards Sunny, once they encountered each other as adults.

Did the story turn out the way you planned from the beginning? If not, what change happened that you didn’t expect? Both novels turned out exactly as I believed they would. Deep, emotional, and an open door to all sorts of conversations.

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why? In each of my books, I would like to be the one who stands out and speaks up for herself without doubts. The one who would do for her friends and those in need. I would definitely be the character from The Fishing Trip. He avenged the children and women abused by the town.

Do you have an all time favorite book?

The Giver has always been a favorite of mine.

***

You can find more about Ey on her website or follow her on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram.

You can purchase her books here.

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author – Ey Wade

  1. Ey Wade says:

    Thank you awesomely for having me on. It was fun. I hope your readers get a chance to read excerpts of the books. http://righttolifeandlove.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

