Recipe of the Month – To Die for Cake #AtoZChallenge

imagejpeg_0This month I am participating in the A to Z Challenge. My topic of choice is antagonists. As soon as I noticed that the letter D landed on the day I feature a recipe, I knew I wanted to do To Die for Cake. Now there are many rehttp://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/cipes out there with this title. I have one for Pumpkin Bars that are “to die for.” But this recipe is one that my mom took to a church function and received tons of compliments.

Cake Ingredients:

1 box yellow cake mix

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 (20 oz.) can crushed pineapple, undrained.

Cream Cheese Icing Ingredients:

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened

½ cup butter, softened

3 ¾ cups confectioners’ sugar

1 t. vanilla

1 ½ cups sweetened shredded coconut

½ cups chopped nuts (optional)

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine cake ingredients; beat until smooth. Pour in greased 15 X 10 X 1 inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes. Cool.

Combine icing ingredients until smooth. Spread over cake and sprinkle with nuts, if desired.

Yields about 24 servings.

And in case you want to check out my other antagonists from the challenge…

A is for Apocalypse

B is for Bad Boys (parenting)

C is for Cruella de Vil

D is for Darth Vader (Quote)

 

Leave a Reply

