Today’s Featured Author – Natasja Rose

Please welcome Natasja Rose to my blog. Her latest release, The Temporarily Misplaced Collection, is a collection of poems but don’t miss her books of ghostly travels or twisted fairy tales either. (All of which can be found on Amazon.)

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.
I’m a disability carer who writes and does historical re-enactment in my limited free time. I live and work in Sydney, Australia, and like to travel whenever I have time off and can afford it.

What or who inspired you to start writing?
I’ve always loved to write and tell stories, especially ones that didn’t follow a conventional storyline. I think my first one was shortly after I learned to write, about a beautiful princess who escaped into the woods and was eaten by cannibals. For some reason, my teacher was less than appreciative.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?
I usually have two or three projects in the works at once, so that if I have writer’s block with one, I can work on another one. Currently, I’m working on a third (currently untitled) poetry/short-story/monologue collection, “Chillon’s Prisoner” (a supernatural adventure with romantic undertones inspired by Lord Byron’s epic poem. third in the ‘Ghostly Travels’ series) and “Red Riding Hood and the Stalker”, the last in my twisted fairytale trilogy ‘Timeless Tales, Modern Morals’. There will also be at least two spin-off novellas in the series, but those are still in draft form.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?
As mentioned, I work in Disabled Care. This basically means working with people who are unable to care for themselves, for a variety of reasons. Fortunately, there are lull periods and meal breaks, where I’ll whip out a pocket-sized notebook and scribble down whatever pops into my head.

What fuels you as an author to continue to write?

Mostly, I feel that there are still stories that need to be told, especially when mainstream fiction seems to be all about plucky teenage love-triangles based around people’s inability to talk about their problems. Sometimes, I think that there need to be more stories around characters of colour, or women in their late twenties, or sexual minorities, or stories that don’t centre around romance and/or miscommunication. If I can’t find those stories in a bookstore, I’ll write them myself.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?
Often through random conversations or events that spark an idea. “Cinderella Grows a Spine” was born when some friends and I were complaining that it was nearly impossible to find a twisted fairytale that really changed the events of the story, rather than just fleshing it out or changing the setting. I put together “The Temporarily-Misplaced Collection” when I realized that I had a bunch of ideas that wouldn’t really stretch or develop into a book of their own, but would make an excellent short story. I decided to write “Chillon’s Prisoner” when I visited the castle itself and read Lord Byron’s poem.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?
I’ll do a very basic outline (beginning, end, major events) but for the most part, I’ll just write. Often I’ll get an idea for something that happens in the middle or near the end before I’ve written the second chapter, and write that down. For every book I write, there’s usually an entire word document full of nothing but random scenes that may or may not make it into the final draft.

Please tell us about your current release.
I just finished “The Temporarily-Misplaced Collection”, a collection of Short-Stories, Monologues and Poetry, and before that was “Eternity’s Invitation”, a supernatural ghost story and the sequel to my first book, “The Highwayman’s Legacy”.

How did you come up with the title?
Originally, I had only planned to write “The Lost Collection”, which was mostly poetry, and I needed a catchy title in the theme of the first one. The Ghostly Travels series is inspired by a series of 19th Century poems, and the titles reflect that. “Eternity’s Invitation” was inspired by John Clare’s “An Invite, to Eternity”.

What kind of research did you do for this book?

For “The Temporarily-Misplaced Collection” I researched mermaids, dementia, various sea-life, medieval con-artists and Dante’s Inferno. For “Eternity’s Invitation”, I had to research Regency-era asylums, mythology and folklore of the UK, as well as the history of certain places. I also spent hours researching details that weren’t really important to the storyline, but I wanted to get right. This included various ways and travel times to get from point A to point B, local Motels in a certain area, and the surprisingly long list of things that could get you sent to an asylum in 1800’s England.

That was comparatively mild. For some of my other books, I am very sure that my browsing history in the internet and local libraries could easily have put me on the suspect list of a police investigation.

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?
In the house, I like to relax on either the couch or my bed while I’m writing. Outside the house, there are a few cafes that I frequent, though I nearly got kicked out of one when I started cackling while writing a comedic short story and apparently scared a few of the other patrons.

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

I’m an Asexual who reads erotica as a sleeping aide. My partner finds this hilarious, and sends me links when I’m on Facebook at 2 am, adorable enabler that they are.

Book Blurb

poems-natasja-roseMore Short Stories, interspaced here and there with the occasional monologue and poem, that didn’t quite make it into novels of their own. Some of them might at a later date, but for now, you can read them here.

Read about the Adventures of Codename Granny, the origins of mermaids, space exploration that doesn’t quite go as planned, and reincarnated soulmates that don’t always end in Happily Ever After.

A sequel, of sorts, to ‘The Lost Collection’.

About the Author

Natasja has been writing since a very young age, though those notebooks have been lost in the Old Schoolbooks Cupboard and (hopefully) will never see the light of day. Most of her stories, published or otherwise, began life as conversations with friends that sparked an idea that grew into a story or poem.

Her publishing adventures started with poems and short stories in focus newsletters like ABA and AMBA, and online sites like Readwave, before finally taking a chance with self-publishing.

Natasja Rose lives and works in Sydney, Australia, but travels whenever she can afford it and has the time. Her greatest wish is to visit all the places in the world that inspired her writing as a child, and create new stories for new inspirations.

You can connect with Natasja on Facebook or Twitter.

You can purchase The Temporarily Misplaced Collection on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

