Today’s Featured Author – Nia Arthurs

Please welcome author Nia Arthurs to my blog. Her romance novel, Cece & David, was released on Amazon in May.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Hi, everyone! My name is Nia Arthurs and I am twenty years old. I love to read; I love to write, and I have a very unhealthy obsession with Oreo cookies.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Belize City, Belize. Belize is a tiny country nestled between the Caribbean Sea and Mexico and Guatemala. We’re famous for our Mayan ruins, our living Barrier Reef and our vast acres of virgin forests.

What or who inspired you to start writing?

When I was a toddler, my dad would set me on his lap and point out sentences in storybooks. I couldn’t read for squat, but I soon learned to interpret the words as pictures. Thus a voracious reading habit began. Eventually, my love affair with reading unraveled so I started writing to fill the hole inside.

What is the best thing about being a writer? The worst?

The best thing about being a writer is how much my life has changed through the stories I pen. When my characters are strong on the page, I realize that I can be strong in reality. When my characters find love in the end, it gives me patience and hope for my own love story.

The worst thing about being a writer is … it’s lonely. I love the characters I’ve created. All my heroes and heroines are personal friends.

But they’re also imaginary.

Sometimes, I’m so locked up in my head and my laptop that I don’t have time for living, flesh and blood interactions. Writing is fulfilling, but lonely work.

Please tell us about your current release.

Cece & David is a contemporary novel. The story follows the journey of two best friends who love one another in all the ways that someone can love.

Cece is a black girl and David is Asian, but that doesn’t stop them from caring deeply for each other.

The best friends navigate the troubled waters of junior college, jealous girlfriends, obsessed bullies, and unforeseen tragedies all while fighting for their own personal identities inside and outside of their friendship.

What inspired you to write this book?

That’s a very funny story. Cece & David wasn’t in my plan. I was supposed to be working on a sequel for one of my other novels. Instead, I took a break.

During that time-off, I went to the store where I spotted the most handsome, noble-looking Asian guy behind the cash register. I kept ducking behind the shelves trying to memorize his face… for a future novel, of course. Not for any personal reasons.

I couldn’t get him out of my head. In my heart, in the tiny pocket where dreams are born, I wished that I had a reason to talk to him. You know, apart from paying for my Oreo cookies. So, I drafted eighteen-year-old, multi-cultural best friends to play out that reality for me.

Which of your characters is your favorite? Do you dislike any of them?

Whew! This is a hard one. I love both Cece and David, but I think I’ll give this one to… Cece.

David is awesome. He’s genuine, loyal, and very, very handsome. His personal growth through the course of the novel is astounding. Cece’s only a centimeter above him because she did something that I would never do first.

She confessed her feelings.

Cece’s confession complicates her relationship with David and spins the story out in a way I hadn’t even expected. But she would do it again. In a heartbeat. I admire that strength.

As for characters I dislike, I’d say it’s the bully that calls David ‘chino’. Such ignorance is not only annoying, but deeply disturbing. Differences should be celebrated, not made fun of.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

The next book that I’ll write is the last in the series. I have a few surprises that I’m going to spring on the couple. If anyone has read (or will read) the Cece & David series, they know that I’m never easy on the pair. David and Cece will have much to overcome before they settle down with their well-earned HEA.

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

I would be Morgan Fraiser from Buffalo Soldier: The Love & Reggae Series. Morgan is a bass player that joins a group of pale-skinned, reggae stars on their world tour. She rocks out on her guitar in front of thousands of fans. She’s strong, stubborn and opinionated, but her intentions are always good. Like Morgan, I would love to travel the world and play the bass for a big event. Someday…

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

Have I mentioned that I love Oreos? Just kidding. You would never guess that… I wanted to be a lawyer. I applied for hundreds of scholarships to study law overseas and all were, thankfully, rejected. While I wigged out over not being able to go to school, I made the best decision in my life.

I started writing.

Book Blurb

cece-davidBeing bullied and teased about his race was an ordinary part of seven-year-old David Kim’s day. Until Cece Walker stepped into the picture and stood up for him. After that, David chased his hero. He plied her with juice boxes and sweets until she finally gave in and became his friend. That friendship would span over ten years.

Now, David and Cece are about to embark on a new journey as young adults. Will their friendship span the test of time? Or will feelings get in the way of their bond?

Discover hope and trust and friendship in this sweet novel exploring the truth of love that comes in many shades.

About the Author 

niaI live in a country where the beaches are always picturesque, the Mayan ruins are always intriguing, and the Blue Hole is just minutes away. Yet I prefer sticking close to home, reading a good novel and then picking up my laptop and trying to write one.

I enjoy penning stories that span across ethnicities, nationalities and skin tones. I am also a firm believer in happily ever afters. The world is full of grim realities. Sometimes we all need a little reminder that things can work out in the end.

You can find out more about Nia on her blog or Amazon or follow her on Twitter.

You can purchase Cece & David on Amazon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

