Making my own Harley Quinn Costume

For the past three years, my family has attended the Alamo City Comic Con. To get in the spirit, we have always dressed in costumes fitting for a comic book convention.

The first year I was Huntress. I bought the costume but replaced the shirt. The next year, I was Poison Ivy. Again, I bought the costume but made even more modifications to make it better. It was also the first time I wore a wig as part of my costume.

img_2070Now my husband has always made his costumes for Comic Con but I have had no desire to make my own. That is until this year. I had been toying with the idea of being Harley Quinn and just buying a costume. Then in April, I saw the trailer for Suicide Squad. I had found the Harley Quinn costume I wanted.

But when I looked online, I didn’t like what I saw. Then I watched a few YouTube videos on making my own Harley Quinn costume. I thought, “I can do that.” And so my adventure in making my own costume began.

Shirt

img_5231The shirt was probably the easiest. I bought a white long sleeve woman’s shirt from Goodwill. I cut the sleeves and bottom to the appropriate lengths and then used red fabric paint to color the top and add the stripes to the sleeves. My only problem with this was that the fabric paint made the fabric stiff.

To get the letters on the shirt, I created the “Daddy’s Little Monster” lettering on my computer and then printed it on transfer paper.

To create the holes in the shirt, I used sandpaper for a more natural look. My husband then sewed some areas to get the look that the shirt had been repaired. Makeup was used to “dirty” up the shirt. In the end, I think it looks pretty authentic. (Total cost $6.54.)

Baseball Bat

img_5229img_5230I spent a lot of time trying to find a cheap wooden bat that we could use to make Harley’s bat. I finally found this one at a used sporting goods store for $10. My husband stripped the paint and then I painted the diamonds and letters on the bat. For the copy on the back, I spent a lot of time looking at what people thought it should say but no one knew as this was before the movie came out. But waiting for the movie didn’t help. I finally found what I think was on the bat and handwrote it with a sharpie. We then coated the bat with varnish and added the sport tape. (Cost – $23 because varnish remover was expensive.)

Necklace, Bracelets and Belt

img_5233Again, I shopped at Goodwill and Salvation Army to find these pieces. The necklace was a white belt that we painted gold. The PUDDIN letters are just foam painted and attached to the necklace.

The bracelets were a black belt that I got for 50 cents because it was damaged. We cut them to the correct length and added Velcro. And the belt is just a belt we found and painted the correct colors. My husband 3D printed a few extra of the raised pieces and while the belt is almost too short, we were able to make it work. (Total cost for all 4 pieces- $5.93)

Wig

img_5236I bought a cheap wig off of Ebay since I didn’t like the fake look of the pink and blue on the store bought Harley Quinn wigs. I watched a few videos on how to dye it but will admit it wasn’t as easy as it looked. My pink side came out too red and even after lightening it, the wig seems much frizzier on that side. Also because I bought a wig that was not already in ponytails, I had to do them myself and anyone who works with a cheap wig knows that this isn’t an easy task. Overall it turned out okay but not my favorite piece that we created. (Cost – $12.15.)

Gun and Holster

img_5232I have to give my husband all the credit for these. He had leather to make the gun holster and on the opposite side he created a little pouch so I could carry my cell phone and ID. img_2011He 3D printed the gun and did all the painted detail work. It looks awesome! (Total cost was $2 for a paint pen.)

Now I did buy a couple of pieces. img_5235Even though there were videos on how to do them, I bought the shorts ($8) and boots ($43) off of Ebay and ordered a set of waterproof tattoos to take care of her arm band and tats on her legs. (We still drew with eyeliner the ones on her face.)

Overall, I did enjoy making this costume. It is way more authentic than one you can buy in the store and I liked searching for the pieces and finding great deals. The whole costume, including make-up, cost about $120.

Leave a Reply

