Dressing up again for the Alamo City Comic Con

For the third year in a row, we attended the Alamo City Comic Con yesterday.

This event gets bigger and bigger each year and brings in more and more stars. This year’s cast of special guest included Charlie Cox (from Netflix’s Daredevil), Ralph Macchio (Karate Kid), Summer Glau (Firefly, Terminator, Arrow), a host of actors from Doctor Who and Gotham, Jeremy Bulloch (Star Wars) and Billy Dee Williams (Star Wars) and a lot of others….really too many to list.

And as we did the last two years, we went ahead and got into the spirit by wearing costumes.

img_2070

This year’s cast of characters….

Batman – My husband has been working on this costume for quite a long time. He actually wore an early version of it last year for Halloween (after going to Comic Con as Han Solo). He wasn’t happy with the armor from last year’s costume and has spent many nights and weekends perfecting the costume and even added a light-up Bat symbol.

Deadshot – Jase decided to be the DC comic book character Deadshot. Last year, Jase went as a Star Wars Clone Trooper at Comic Con but was Nightwing for Halloween – wearing an awesome costume my husband made. They don’t make Deadshot costumes for kids so once again my husband made Jase’s costume. It was based on character in the Suicide Squad movie that came out in August.

Wonder Woman – Continuing our theme of DC characters, Lexie decided to be Wonder Woman. We bought her costume online, but my husband did change out the lasso – opting to make her one that lights up. (Lexie was a Pink Power Ranger last year.)

Harley Quinn – Look, it is another DC comic book character! Harley is the Joker’s girlfriend, so definitely not a good guy. I actually had been considering being Harley, and then I saw the Suicide Squad trailer in April. From that moment on I decided I would go as Suicide Squad’s Harley Quinn. After researching her costume online, I decided to do something I have never done before. I decide to make my costume. My husband and I did all of it (gun, holster, shirt, wig, bat, belt, bracelets and necklace) except the shorts and boots which I purchased. (I will post next week more on making the costume.) Everyone knew who I was, and I got stopped quite often to have my picture taken.

It was a great event, and I know we will be going back next year. I may go back to my Poison Ivy costume from last year, or maybe I’ll stick with Suicide Squad Harley Quinn. She was just too much fun!

One thought on “Dressing up again for the Alamo City Comic Con

  1. […] on such as fundraising or speakers and I even have written about vacations or events such as the Alamo City Comic Con that we are […]

Leave a Reply

