Posting your kids’ picture or achievements on social media

Many people from grandparents on down to kids too young to legally have an account are on social media these days. Some parents are even setting up pages for their newborns even though use restrictions of sites such of Facebook require users to be at least 13 years old.

And many of those using Facebook and other sites post with little regard everything about their life. Even as employers began scrutinizing social media as part of their hiring practice, people continue to post just about every incident or thought in their head.

And without a second thought, many of us post images of our kids at the zoo, celebrating their birthday, on their first day of school or even when they are having a tantrum. But few of us take the time to think about whether we SHOULD post about our child. It is after all their life and now that picture/post is out there for everyone to see/read. And remember the Internet if forever. Those pictures aren’t going away.

I know my own son has sometimes asked about whether I am going to post a picture I just took on Facebook. (Even at 11, he has his own Facebook account which only family members can access. He got it in order to play a game on his iPad. My daughter (age 8) often asks for an account, but we have not set one up for her.)

I recently read a blog post on the NY Times about a blogger who decided that she would stop writing about her children. She admitted to sharing intimate details of their lives on her blog, in chat rooms and on Facebook. http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2016/07/29/why-i-decided-to-stop-writing-about-my-children/

And while I get her point and do think parents in general need to rethink what they share about their kids’ lives on social media, I won’t be stopping posting about my kids for several reasons.

The first is I have very strict privacy settings on my social media account. Only family and friends can see my posts.

The second reason is that I am very careful about what I post both on my blog and my personal Facebook account. I don’t post pictures of my kids naked or of them in their underwear. I don’t post when they are having a bad day or when they have gotten in trouble. In fact, I would say only a third of the posts currently on my page from the past month are about the kids. And they are not doing anything out of the ordinary – riding bikes, learning archery and attending the first day of school.

As for my posts on this blog, well, I post about my kids and topics that come up based on what is happening in their lives. However, I decided in the beginning that I would never post their actual names. I have given each of them a “new” name for this blog. No friends later in life or employers are going to find this site when they are looking for information on my kids. I have even done Google searches on their real names and nothing comes up. (But searching their alias do bring up images.)

Now I can’t tell you what you should or shouldn’t do. But I do caution all parents to take the time to think before they post. Think about your child’s feelings when you post about their latest exploits and embarrassing photos. It is just your life you are affecting after all, it is also your child’s. And let those thoughts be what guide you.

 

4 thoughts on “Posting your kids’ picture or achievements on social media

  1. Candy Korman says:

    I think that your policy of protecting your kids—not using their names, etc.—on social media is a very good choice. Sometimes I can’t believe what some people post. Raw emotions, revealing moments, and actions that would send a red flag up for employers. In the midst of the wild, wild west of social media, thinking before posting is necessary.

  2. […] Posting your kids’ picture or achievements on social media […]

  3. amommasview says:

    I like your post a lot although I’m one of the moms not agreeing with putting pictures of your children online. Having said that nothing makes me happier then seeing my friends children’s pics online and feeling like I’m part of what they do. As we live too far away to catch up it’s the only way I can be “part” of their lives. What I’ve learned though over the time looking a little bit deeper into it was, that privacy settings are not worth a lot as there are too many people (although friends and family) involved. All it takes is one of your friends to save one of your pictures and then re-post it in their feed. If their feed is not set on private the pic is out and if they are not wired the same way you are they might even mention the name of your child and location where they usually can be found. Believe me, I have an Aunt who did it with one of my cousins kids’ pics… Unfortunately it’s still too easy for pics to get out and lost in space.

    Don’t get me wrong. I’m very much for to each their own. As long as you consider what kind of impact it might have on your children and you seem to do this. Many don’t, just as you’ve mentioned too. I’ve written about it too and I hope you don’t mind sharing the links here: https://amommasview.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/no-pics-on-social-media-the-day-i-understood-why/
    https://amommasview.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/4807/
    and this one…
    https://amommasview.wordpress.com/2015/06/04/dont-feed-the-creeps/

    By the way, I found the link to your post on Niki’s monthly meet & greet and I’m looking forward discovering more from you.

  4. Meg says:

    This is an informative post. My Facebook and Instagram accounts contain photos of my kids(because I dont post my selfies, haha) and I do selective sharing- as much as possible I just talk about our ordinary life or their cute and funny moments. I’ve learned my lesson when I was still an active member of a moms group on FB. I dont want my kids to be judged by other people who do not know anything about them.

Leave a Reply

