Today’s Featured Author – Parker J. Cole

Please welcome author Parker J. Cole to my blog. She is on a book tour promoting her latest release – Vengeful Vows – the third book in her Sins of the Flesh series. (You can purchase Vengeful Vows on Amazon.)

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am an author, speaker, and radio show host with a fanatical obsession with the Lord, Star Trek, K-dramas, anime, romance books, old movies, speculative fiction, and knitting. I’ve finally kicked the off and on addiction to Mountain Dew and marshmallows.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I am a Detroit born and bred and still call the D my home. I love Detroit. It has a wonderful rich history integral to the success of the United States. It’s a city that constantly shows its ability to rise from challenges. Even in tough economic times, Detroit exhibits its innate fortitude to overcome difficulty. I like to think the spirt of Detroit lives in me. No matter what adversity may drive me down, from the ashes I will grow. In fact, the city’s logo came from the 1805 burning of the city from an, “We hope for better things; it will arise from the ashes.”

What or who inspired you to start writing?

I always knew I would be a writer. Since the moment of my birth, it was evident. I lived with a book in my hand. I told stories to my siblings. I wonder around in dreamland. Being a writer was always going to happen.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

Each one of my books incorporate some element of me in then. My first book, Dark Cherub, was based from an experience I had with a friend and the idea ballooned from that. The romantic series, Sins of the Flesh, has many elements of myself in them. In Many Strange Women, I deal with the self-hatred I carried for a long time. In the second book, The Other Man, I deal with a nasty temper that can sometimes get me in trouble. The third book, Vengeful Vows, deals with trying to control everything and the problems that arise from the effort.

Please tell us about your current release.

My current release is Vengeful Vows, which is book three of the Sins of the Flesh series. It’s the book that readers have said has twists and turns, and a roller coaster ride. Well, it reflects what went on in my life at the time so yeah! Everything was topsy turvy. In fact, this book was the first book that helped me therapeutically.

How did you come up with the title?

Funny you should ask. The original title of the book was ‘The Ex-lovers’ Revenge’. When I looked it up online, I saw a number of books, movies, and the like with similar titles so I wanted to get a title no one had. Thus, it was renamed Vengeful Vows.

Can you tell us a little about the black moment in your book?

The black moment is when everything changes for the main characters. When things happen that spiral out of control, you’re caught in a windstorm. All of a sudden, you realize what you thought was control was only an illusion.

Do you have a specific snack that you have with you when you write?

I am a recovering addict of Mountain Dew and marshmallows. Those used to be my go to’s for writing. But I’ve kicked the habit now. What do now is make my dog, Sarah, sit near me or on my feet. She’s my muse.

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

I’m afraid of the dark. Like terrified of it. I sleep with the computer or TV on with some movie or show I’ve seen a thousand times. It’s strange too because I remember sleeping as kid in complete darkness but somewhere along the way, as I grew older, I became afraid of the dark. Go figure.

Book Blurb

Vengeful Vows book coverWILL YOU WALK INTO MY PARLOUR?” SAID THE SPIDER TO THE FLY?

Daffodil Simmons is a spider, and all the world is her fly. Her latest scheme for revenge against the two men who abandoned her—her father and her former lover—seems to be going as planned until . . .

. . . ANOTHER SPIDER ENTERS THE WEB . . .

It’s a battle of wits against a powerful foe. Will Daffodil gain the revenge she craves? Or will she be trapped by her own threads?

About the Author

parkerParker J Cole the author of Dark Cherub and the Sins of the Flesh series; this includes Many Strange Women, The Other Man, and Vengeful Vows. She is also host of The Write Stuff, which showcases Christian authors worldwide and the Parker J Cole Show interviewing guest, news, and commentary. When not writing or hosting, she spends most of her time reading, knitting, cooking and concocting new ideas for stories. She lives in Michigan with her husband and dog, Sarah.

You can find out more about Parker on her website or follow her on Twitter or Facebook.

You can purchase Vengeful Vows on Amazon.

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author – Parker J. Cole

Leave a Reply

