Counting Calories/Weight Loss Update

Back in February, I posted that once again I was back to counting calories to lose weight. (At the end of 2015, I found myself about 18 pounds heavier than I wanted to be.)

So I began counting calories which I had done before and successfully used as a weight-loss method. (It is maintaining the weight loss that seems to be a problem.)

There has been bad news and bad news…and of course some good? results.

Bad News #1

livestrongIn March, the My Plate app that I was using had an update that caused my information to merge with someone else’s info. While they did fix it finally part of the fix included logging out of the program. I had been using this app for such a long time that it was connected to an old email address and when the typical passwords didn’t work, I couldn’t ask it to send me the password as it would go to my old e-mail address!

In other words, I logged out and couldn’t get back in!

I sent the company an e-mail that they obviously didn’t read as they just sent back the instructions to log out of the app and log back in. By this time a week had gone by without me using the app to count my calories. It was also Spring Break for the kids and we were doing more activities and the calorie watching became harder.

My Fitness PalFed up, I decided to try a different calorie counting app – My Fitness Pal. I don’t know what it was about this app but I didn’t like it as well as My Plate even though it had great reviews. I guess I missed being able to look up my past foods with ease or the calories from a meal at a restaurant.

So here it is May and I have not been logging my calories. I keep saying I will get back into it but never do. Maybe I will have to give My Plate or My Fitness Pal another try.

Bad News #2

Well as you can guess, if I am not counting my calories, I am not losing weight. It became hard to stick to the calorie counting when after Spring Break we had my brother visiting. That included a Spurs basketball game, going to a gaming place with the kids and Easter dinner. None of those are conducive with dieting.

After that, our PTA put on a huge festival. It is a lot of work and again, not the time to be watching the calories. You eat whatever you can when you can. But after the festival, I have not had any excuse. I just have fallen off the calorie counting wagon. I am however still periodically weighing myself.

Good? Results

Woman holding her mouth uid 1461141On those weigh in sessions, my weight is fluctuating about 3-4 pounds. So I have either loss about 10 pounds or as much as 14. While this is good, I am losing weight at a much slower pace. In the first 5 weeks, I lost 6 pounds. In the next 12, I have lost 8 at the most.

I guess I should count myself lucky for not having gained back what I have lost. But as we head into May and June, I am hoping to get back into counting calories and lose those last few pounds. So starting today, I am back to counting calories (using My Fitness App).

2 thoughts on “Counting Calories/Weight Loss Update

  1. Joan Lindgren says:

    There are so many temptations out there, its hard to resist. Keep up the calorie count and exercise too. Good luck.

  2. […] about trying to lose weight by counting calories. (Check out those posts here, here, here and here.) And it does work. Each time I have watched what I ate and counted my calories, I have lost […]

Leave a Reply

