S is for Sherlock Holmes #AtoZChallenge

For the A to Z Challenge, I have chosen the theme of characters. On my normal blogging days, Monday – parenting, Wednesday – quotes, and Thursday – writing/publishing, I will focus on characteristics. On the other days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I will write about characters from movies, TVs or books.

SToday the letter is S for Sherlock Holmes of the books created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The character appears in four novels and 56 short stories by Conan Doyle as well as later works by other authors.

Holmes is known for his astute logical reasoning and his use of forensic science to solve difficult cases. He has a knack for diving into an apparent messy situation only to find an item relevant to the mystery. He derives pleasure from baffling the police inspectors with his deductions and displays a strong aptitude for acting and disguises.

sherlock-holmesHis supreme confidence comes across as arrogant or rude. He is quite lacking in people skills and has no interest in emotion. And he is most definitely a workaholic, addicted to the pursuit of solving the mystery.

If you missed the other days in the A to Z Challenge:

A is for Alice

B is for Belgarath 

C is for Cautious Child

D is for Dana Scully

E is for Enthusiasm (Quote) and Southwestern Eggrolls (Recipe)

F is for Flaky Character 

G is for Gandalf 

H is for Huckleberry Finn

I is for Independence 

J is for Jason Bourne

K is for Kind (Quote)

L is for Lazy Characters

M is for Merlin

N is for Nancy Clancy

O is for Organized

P is for Puss in Boots

Q is for Quiet

R is for Rebellious Characters 

4 thoughts on “S is for Sherlock Holmes #AtoZChallenge

  1. Joan Lindgren says:

    When a bit younger, I loved reading about Sherlock Holmes. Could probably reread them now and still enjoy them.

  2. I’m sorry I missed the other letters; I love your selections! I know what I’ll be reading today.

  3. There are lots of portrayals of Holmes that I have thoroughly enjoyed. He is a fascinating character even if he might not make a best friend. Hope you are enjoying the AtoZ!
    Revisit the Tender Years with me during the #AtoZChallenge at Life & Faith in Caneyhead!

  4. raesquiggles says:

    I’m a big fan of Sherlock Holmes and read the books as a child. He hasn’t lost his appeal.

Leave a Reply

