E is for Eggroll, Southwestern Eggroll that is #AtoZChallenge

IMG_4240I love eggrolls. I especially love the Southwestern Eggrolls that you find at restaurants like Chili’s Bar and Grill. So when I had to come up with an E recipe for the A to Z blogging challenge, I chose Southwestern Eggrolls. (I have already done Enchiladas – chicken and casserole – or that probably would have been my letter E recipe.)

Now you are supposed to fry these in oil but I am watching my calories so I opted to bake them in the oven. I have also seen many versions of this recipe that uses egg roll wrappers instead of tortillas and since my mom gave me some egg roll wrappers, I decided to try it both ways. (The ones pictured are made with tortillas.) I loved them either way.

They are also great with the Cilantro Cream sauce (pictured) but it does seem to lose some of its spiciness if you make it ahead of time. (Or you can always add a jalapeno to the sauce if you like spicy.)

Ingredients

1 T. cooking oil

1 chicken breast

2 T. minced green onion

2 T. Minced red pepper

1/3 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained

2 T. chopped spinach

2 T. jalapeno peppers diced

3/4 cups Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded

1/2 t. cumin

1/2 T. fresh parsley or cilantro

1/4 t. salt

1/2 t. chili powder

Dash cayenne pepper

5 7-inch flour tortillas

Directions

Grill or pan fry chicken until done. Set aside.

Heat 1 T. oil in saucepan over medium heat. Stir in green onion and red pepper. Cook and stir 5 minutes until tender.

Dice chicken and add to saucepan. Add corn, black beans, spinach, jalapeno peppers, parsley, cumin, chili powder, salt and cayenne pepper. Cook and stir for five minutes. Remove from heat and stir in cheese until it melts.

Warm tortillas in microwave a few minutes to make them pliable. Spoon even amounts of mixture onto each tortilla. Fold ends of tortilla, then roll tightly. You can secure with a toothpick if needed. Place on baking tray.

Spray eggrolls tops with non-stick cooking spray. Bake at 450 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes or until crispy on the outside.

Makes 5 Eggrolls

 

 

 

 

One thought on “E is for Eggroll, Southwestern Eggroll that is #AtoZChallenge

  1. Julia says:

    Cool like the idea of using the egg roll wrappers.

Leave a Reply

