My fourth grader attended his first maturation class

In January, we received notice that all fourth graders would be offered maturation classes in March. That is where they separate the boys from the girls and talk about the changes of puberty. (I barely remember mine from elementary school.)

At our school, they start the classes in fourth grade though the girls receive a brief intro talk in the third grade because girls are developing sooner than before. I had no clue that it started in third grade since notices only went home to parents of girls, and we aren’t there yet. (But will be next year.)

So at our school, both fourth and fifth-grade students are separated by gender and receive a lesson on what is about to happen to their bodies.

When the notice came home in January, parents could attend a brief meeting at a neighboring elementary school where they would go over what they would discuss and answer your questions. Or you could just watch the video that would be shown to your student from home. So my husband and I opted to do the latter.  We figured if we had any questions, I could then attend the official meeting.

The video was pretty straight forward. It was done in the format of some boys listening to a radio show called “Let’s Talk.” It was informative, and I could just picture the boys squirming and being embarrassed while watching it.

Jase got his chance to watch the video at school last Thursday. One of the first things he said when he came out of school was that he had to attend maturation class.

“How was it,” I asked.

“I am going to start sweating more,” he said and then bowed his head.

IMG_4362“That’s true. What about the rest of it? Did you find it embarrassing?”

He nodded. “Some of it.”

He then showed me the booklet that he received, briefly opening it to the diagram of male genitals.

We spoke a few more minutes on it as we walked. Luckily, Lexie was talking to her dad who happened to be at pick up with me. (A very rare occurrence.)

Jase went on to talk to my husband the next day. He didn’t really have questions, but I think needed to process through what had been said and perhaps needed his dad’s reassurance that it was true, and everything would be all right.

For a child who is resistant to change, I think he handled everything well.

Next year, I will have two kids attending the Maturation classes. I will get to see what the third-grade  girls learn when Lexie goes, and I will get to see what additional information the fifth-grade boys receive as they watch a different video than the fourth graders.

Leave a Reply

