Celebrating Valentine’s Day – differences of being 10, 20 and now

Valentines-day-Greetings-2015Yesterday was February fourteenth. For some people, it was a special day to spend with the one they love. For some, it is a stark reminder that they are still looking for that special someone. And for some, it is a day like no other. Whatever it was to you I hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

Valentine’s Day really changes as the years pass.

NOW 

My husband and I have had a long-established policy of celebrating Valentine’s Day by going out to lunch rather than dinner to avoid the crowds. The price of flowers skyrockets so we don’t do flowers either. (Actually before I became a stay-at-home mom, my husband routinely had flowers delivered to the office for no other reason than to show he loves me. It made many of the women in the office a little jealous since their husbands never did that.)

Typically, we don’t do much in the way of gifts. I might get my husband a shirt or a DVD. Lately, he has been buying me chocolate-covered strawberries. Yum!

At age 20

Me and “Tiny”

I still recall our first Valentine’s Day together – 23 years ago. We were in college and had begun dating in December. While I was away from my apartment, one of my other roommates let him in my room. He covered the walls, floor and bed with those little Valentine’s Day cards you give out in elementary school and heart-shaped lollipops. Sitting on my bed was a huge pink teddy bear (which we named Tiny.) He brought me flowers when we went to dinner that night. What a wonderful memory.

At age 10

This year is the first time Jase has asked more about what being a Valentine means. A girl from another class likes him. He likes her. So she asked him to be her Valentine.

IMG_4092Since we are talking about 10-year-olds, we explained that because they both liked each other, as her Valentine he might think of getting her a special card or some candy. He opted to make her a card. I actually designed it on the computer with him sitting beside me telling me what he wanted. It featured a heart inside that sort of “pops” out when the card is opened. Inside he also included a 3D printed lion (her favorite animal). It was fun to see how excited he was about the situation.

I am sure this is just the first of many Valentines for him. I only hope he keeps talking to us about the girls he likes. What I am not sure I am ready for is Lexie and boys. She may only be in the second grade, but it will happen before I know it.

Leave a Reply

