Today’s Featured Author – Kat Doughty

Today, I welcome Kat Doughty to my blog. Her latest book, The First Singers, is scheduled to come out this month.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Kat. I live in Virginia and I have five kids. My eldest is six years old, which means that I spend more time than I should in imaginary worlds that do not contain diapers, potty training or Mickey Mouse. It’s about the only way to keep whatever remains of my sanity.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

I have a horrible imagination. Most of my ideas start with a “What if” phrase and the rest is basically a logical continuation of whatever concept I was able to come up with. The basis for the Asin from The First Singers came from the never ending warfare on ants that are summers around here crossed with a Native American legend. Not that they ended up having much in common with either.

Please tell us about your current release.

The First Singers is my second book and was published by J Ellington Ashton Press. It’s a dystopian trilogy, because if you are going to get a dystopian novel out, it better be a part of a trilogy. It centers on Teena, a girl who lives in a former military base in San Jose, California. We wake up with her in the morning on her eighteenth birthday, which also happens to be the day she is very likely to die on.

Which of your characters is your favorite?

When I write I like to write a random side character that I consider awesome, even though they only have a cameo in the story at best. For The First Singers, it’s Ace, some ten year old girl who is a complete tomboy and always does what she wants to do.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

Yes, there are will be two more books. Book two is essentially ready for the publishing process to start and I just finished the first draft of book three. It’s hard to talk about them without giving away much from book one, but Teena will continue her battle against the Asin while figuring out life outside of the sheltered base and who she really is.

Did the story turn out the way you planned from the beginning? If not, what change happened that you didn’t expect?

No, I actually had a completely different ending in mind, but my beta readers hated it. So I went with an alternate, more conventional ending. Which they are going to hate as well, just not as much as what I had originally planned. I am not much of a “and they lived happily ever after” kind of writer.

Do you have an all time favorite book?

I find that a lot of the writers are avid readers and so am I, which means that the list of my all time favorite books is long. One of the books that had a lasting effect on me was Nation by Terry Pratchett. It’s not one of his popular works, but there are elements to it that resonated with me the way few books do. He was a brilliant writer and I am still not entirely over the fact that there are no more books coming.

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

English is my second language, I have a strong accent and I am pretty sure people who know me in real life don’t quite understand how someone completely incapable of putting a sentence together can write books.

Book Blurb

the first singersIn the far future, Teena is ready to celebrate her eighteenth birthday by running for her life. Up to this day she lived in a former military base in the middle of an old, desolated city, Today will decide if she will join the fabled Survivor Island or if she will be killed by her former friends.

About the Author

Kat is a writer, photographer, and a mom to four active boys and a little girl, which is why she needs a fantasy world or two to escape to on a regular basis. When she’s not busy writing or trying to keep her children alive, she is probably hiding in the pantry.

You can find out more about Kat on her website.

You can purchase The First Singers on Amazon.

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author – Kat Doughty

  1. sjhigbee says:

    A great interview. And I thoroughly agree with Kat about ‘Nation’ – it’s a real gem and I think should be a set text at ALL schools on the planet. I, too, find it hard to imagine no more Pratchett novels. There was often a Christmas release and it seems grim to think I won’t have another one to look forward to. Ever:(.

Leave a Reply

