Today’s Featured Author – Ciara Gold

Please welcome author Ciara Gold to my blog.  Her book, The Rose Hunter, came out last month.

Interview

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

I bring a lot of myself into my books. I think the more experiences you have as a person, the more you can bring to your creativity. I teach art in addition to writing and I tell this to my students all the time. How can they not bring their experiences and feelings to the canvas? As for me, I’ve been blessed with a rich upbringing (and I’m not talking money rich but experience rich). I took ballet, tap, piano, voice and art lessons in my youth. I was a girl scout for over twelve years and a candy striper for three. In Eliza’s Copper Penny, in one scene, I have her cleaning a lantern with newspaper. Back when I went to camp, we had to maintain the kerosene lanterns by cleaning the soot off the glass globe and trimming the wick. I think it’s the little things like these that paint a scene more vividly.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

When I work on a project, I usually have three others in the works. I multi-task a lot. At present, I have two historical westerns, one paranormal fantasy and a Christmas story in the works. Of the four, I’ll probably finish the historical western first as I have more done on it.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

Just start writing. I get bored easily and if I outlined, I’d know the ending before I’ve written the book. There’s no fun in that. I pride myself on plots that don’t follow the norm so I tend to write myself into corners a lot and then figure out how to get my characters out of the situation. Oh yeah, I write romance so there’s always an HEA, but other than that, I try real hard to give the reader something fresh and new with each story.

Please tell us about your current release.

I would love to. The Rose Hunter is the second book in a series of books I plan to write. In the first book, The Keeper of Moon Haven, I created an alternative realm for the fae to safely reside, but whenever there’s a blue moon in October, this alternative realm is accessible to humans for one month’s time. In The Rose Hunter, my heroine, an elfin witch, is sent on a mission to recover a stolen artifact. She will have to journey to the human realm to find it and of course must rely on help from a human hero.

What inspired you to write this book?

I truly don’t know. Since I write from the hip, I basically just started writing. With the first book, once I figured out I wanted something centered around the blue moon, the idea for the faery realm came to mind. I then became very excited to have a series of books that would all be different and yet connected by this idea. For the most part, a blue moon in October occurs every nineteen years. Not always, but more often than not so all the books would give me an opportunity to investigate other time periods and part of the fun of writing historical is the research involved.

What kind of research did you do for this book?

I bought several books on the Templar Knights and did quite a bit of research on possible locations for the story. The Castle Hamingjur is a fictional castle set close to the Mendip Hills and Glastonbury as there is so much magical history associated with this area.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

The Rose Hunter is the second book in a series of unlimited books I’m hoping to write. I have started work on a third and fourth book. The third will be set in 1213 AD and 1251 AD and will basically be Lyerra’s parent’s story. I’ve only written a chapter so I can’t tell you too much more. The fourth I started combines a historical western with the faery realm and involves a leprechaun who has spent the better part of his youth in the human realm. He longs to return but the fates have placed him in America, a long way off from Hamingjur and the portal home.

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

What a fun question. I love all my characters, but I think the one that resonates with me most is Eliza from Eliza’s Copper Penny. I loosely based her character off my grandmother who died a month short of her 101st birthday. She taught school in rural Texas in a one-room building.

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?

We just bought property in the country that came with a cabin shell that we finished out to make an office and small kitchen. It’s my “she-shed” and I love it. Right now, that’s the best place to write. It’s quiet, secluded and has a warm, inviting feel.

Do you have an all time favorite book?

I actually have two. The first is Shanna by Kathleen Woodiwiss because it was the very first romance I read and it was the book that turned me on to reading. Prior I hated reading but I think it was because of my eyes. Reading gave me headaches and I never found a genre I enjoyed enough to put up with the discomfort. I know. Strange that an author would dislike reading, eh? I was nineteen when I actually fell in love with romance and at the time, I would read at least 4 books a week. My second all time favorite is Coulter’s Wife by Joan Johnston. Historical westerns are my comfort read when I need a pick-me-up.

Book Blurb

TheRoseHunter-200x300Lucian Willshire is plagued by thoughts of a fey world and the disappearance of his aunt some nineteen years past, but when his friend drags him back to Hamingjur Castle, he stumbles into Alfheim Haven once more where mystical beings become more than a distant memory.

Lyerra Ahdia is baffled by the sudden emotional changes she’s experiencing until she discovers she’s the only witch to suffer “the change” since her mother stole the Rose, a special talisman with the power to perpetuate life among those in her coven. Tasked with finding and bringing the Rose home, she begs Lucian’s help in navigating the human realm. Against his better judgement, he agrees.

Though neither set out to find anything except the Rose, fate has other plans. Will love be more elusive than hunting the Rose?

About the Author

Ciara Gold didn’t realize she was a writer until about ten years ago even though the signs had been in place since fourth grade. Luckily for readers, her muse took a skillet to her head and made her realize her true calling. She’s been delighting fans with her romantic journeys into the past and the future. Texas born and bred, she makes her home with a loving husband and Newt, the cat.

You can find out more about Ciara on her blog or her website. You can also follow her on Twitter or Facebook.

You can purchase The Rose Hunter on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or the Kobo store.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author – Ciara Gold

  1. Ciara Gold says:

    Thank you so much, Susan for having me here today.

Leave a Reply

