#NewRelease – CYPATHIA by Teresa Clyne

This month, author Teresa Clyne released her chidren’s fantasy novel, Cypathia: The Secret Princess.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a law lecturer and forensic psychologist by profession, I have 4 Children, all grown up bar the baby, and she’s 17. I also have 5 grandchildren.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Ireland, in Co. Longford, having moved Countries over the years I am now back in Longford again.

What or who inspired you to start writing?

I have always loved writing, since a child I wrote stories and poems.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I started writing poems at approx. 14 years old.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

Kaia would have some of my stubbornness and logical approaches to problems.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

My next book will be part three of Cypathia, I am also working on several short stories which will deal with Kaia’s adjustments to Royal life.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

I do not write full time, as I work full time and also study. I write when the words scream at me.

What is the best and worst advice you ever received? (regarding writing or publishing)

Best advice was to self-publish, take control of my work, worst advice as also to self-publish (LOL)

What is the best thing about being a writer? The worst?

The best thing about being a writer is the freedom to put your thoughts and feelings into words, to see them and put feeling into them, the worst is that when the words scream you must write, even if that’s at 3am.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

The plots come from my imagination, the places in my writings and poems are there from childhood so I cannot quite remember where they came from.

What inspired you to write this book?

My childhood. I wrote my memoirs in 2009 and after reading them I remember thinking truth is stranger than fiction, and remembered the kingdom I reverted to as a child when I felt alone or scared. I started the process of turning my memoirs in a fiction novel for children based on the magic Kingdom.

How did you come up with the title?

This was the world I went to as a child, when the real work was too difficult emotionally for me, I do not remember naming Cypathia, I have always known its name.

Did you base any of your characters on real people?

In some ways, yes, all of my characters were based on some people I would have known in my childhood although no particular people were chosen.

Which of your characters is your favorite? Do you dislike any of them?

Isadora is my favourite, such a sweet and caring person, putting the needs of others before herself. King Mordor is my least favourite as it was him who was the cause of the family splitting up in the beginning.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

This is part one with part two (Reunited) absolutely free, it is included in part one and is a free bonus for readers, part three is in the process at the moment.

What was the most difficult thing/scene to write in this story?

Banishing family back through the portal.

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

Kaia, she went through so much and came out victorious.

If you could jump in to any book, and live in that world, which would it be?

David Copperfield. This would be an amazing place and time to live.

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?

I love to sit on my boat and write, the gentle swaying of the water is extremely relaxing and clears the mind.

What book are you reading right now?

King James Bible and the Quran.

If you could meet two authors, who would you pick and why?

James Joyce as he had an amazing mind. The brilliance of his novels still astounds me. And Roddy Doyle, this man’s sense of humour is epic.

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

I love motorbikes, the sounds and smells of race bikes are amazing.

Book Blurb

CypathiaAfter an unfortunate twist of fate lands her in Herecia as a tiny baby, Princess Kaia finds herself growing up as a poor peasant girl. Unwanted by her family, poor Kaia spends most of her early childhood feeling unloved and worthless. Without a loving family and no friends, Kaia would have been entirely alone if it wasn’t for her family’s servant, Isadora and her faithful pet dragon Billow, who was never far from her side.

BUT…

Isadora is guarding an enormous secret; one that will break apart the world as Kaia knows it. As the day of her 13thbirthday dawns, Kaia is unaware that she is about to embark on an amazing magical adventure with dragons, sorcerers and goblins that will see her defeat the evil King Mordor and claim back the Kingdom of Cypathia. With her twin brother Kolby at her side she discovers the love of her real family who she got separated from by accident 13 years ago.

About the Author 

teresaAn Irish writer of children’s fiction and adults academic books, born in 1969 in the Coombe Hospital Dublin, the 5th of 6 children to Joe and Angela Clyne… A Law lecturer and Forensic Psychologist by profession Teresa is as comfortable writing about magic, dragons and sorcerers as the Irish legal system.  Teresa is also a photojournalist having written for many local and national papers and magazines including the Mullingar Advertiser, Irish News Review and Emerald Road Racing.

Teresa Clyne is a fervent fan of writing, children’s fiction, dragons and magic. She loves to create worlds where children and dragons stand side by side in their desire to help make the world a better place. Her heroines often yield magic wands, but Teresa equally values their intelligence, wisdom and compassion.  She loves all of the characters in her book but Isadora stands out to her as a selfless and beautiful person, so giving and generous.

You can find out more about Teresa and her book on her blog.

You can purchase Cypathia: The Secret Princess on Amazon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

