Today’s Featured Author – Tabitha Baumander

Today I welcome author Tabitha Baumander. Her book, The Fourth Wall, a collection of short stories, will be out soon.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m fifty five years old divorced with thirty year old twins. Toronto is a hyper expensive place to call home so my son and I share an apartment. My daughter lives elsewhere and visits often. I don’t have a lot of practical skills so I work in telephone sales/customer service. Yes I’m one of THOSE people.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

Toronto , Ontario, Canada

What or who inspired you to start writing?

I have a brain that just generates plot. It would do it if I didn’t write it down and in fact did it before I had the ability to write. When I was very young I drew pictures in sequence and for a time thought I would be a cartoonist. Then I got older and realized the pictures would never be up to standard and it was really the plot that interested me.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m one of those people that say if you write on a regular basis you are a writer however I think it probably took a good ten years of constant writing to get to a professional level. I’m still improving with every new project.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

Technically speaking my current project isn’t a single story it’s a process. I use twitter and have begun doing stories –so far one original and one from one of my published novellas- in serialized form. I’m doing it in the interests of gaining followers and hopefully publicizing and reading my books.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

Job or no job if you want to do something you need to find the time to do it even if its ten minutes at the beginning of the day as in the time I’m spending doing this interview. I wrote the first draft of my first book when my twins were three years old and learned a sentence written or even rewritten is a step closer to writing THE END.

What is the best and worst advice you ever received? (regarding writing or publishing)

I think one should think of any kind of advice as a guideline and use your common sense. What worked for one generation simply doesn’t for the next because the market and the whole nature of the business has in the mean time changed.

What is the best thing about being a writer? The worst?

No matter how crap life can get at least I have that and it makes me a bit special. Oddly enough it also makes me SPECIAL as in thought of as a bit odd. Not to mention the fact that everyone thinks that all you have to do is “just go on breakfast television and plug it” to become successful. Someone literally said that to me yesterday and I almost exploded. People just don’t understand.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

Things come to me in a lot of different ways then my brain chews them up and spits them out.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

I generally have an outline in my head and know where I want to end up but sometimes there’s that big gap in the middle I have to mechanically crawl through using common sense and asking myself ok so how do we do this. Once or twice I have outlined in detail and a couple of times that outline took the form of a screen play (film script) which would give me a 100 page outline.

the foruth wallPlease tell us about your current release.

THE FOURTH WALL is my current release. It’s a book with short stories and two novellas. This is a volume many years in the making as I really don’t write very short that often. I have several slightly undersized books but actual short stories are rare.

What inspired you to write this book?

I think in this case pragmatic reasons come out on top. I don’t read them myself but I’m told people like short stories. SO I looked for a theme in my short stuff realized there was one and put the bits together to form a whole.

How did you come up with the title?

The fourth wall is a theatrical term that means the line between the reality the actors create on stage and the reality of the audience. In each of the stories there is a point where actual reality changes and becomes something else.

Did you base any of your characters on real people?

In general I try and stay away from doing that people can get a bit touchy.

What was the most difficult thing/scene to write in this story?

The novella THE TROLL takes place in a real location in Toronto problem being it is envisioned as I remember it when I was a kid. The location itself is completely different now.

About the Author 

IMG_5226I am a novelist screenwriter and playwright with five books published and a lot more to come. At this point in my life I am divorced with adult twins. I live in Toronto Canada which I am currently populating with aliens, monsters and fairies. Because, well, why not.

You find more about Tabitha on her Facebook page. Her books can be found on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

