Today’s Featured Author – MF Moskwik

Please welcome author MF Moskwik to my blog. MF’s debut novel, Heart Break, was released in June and is the first in the Isabel Swift series.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a writer and scientist. I love dogs! I’ve got two of them-an eleven year old cockapoo and a nine year old beagle. My favorite word, now, is probably proboscis, which refers to a long nose, but that changes daily. I was born in New Jersey but raised in Texas, near the Gulf Coast, which means that when I miss home, I miss the beach, I miss hot, torrential summer rain storms, and I miss the melting pot of delicious Cajun, Latin, Asian, Caribbean, and Barbecue foods that make up the cultural dinner table of that region. Mmm! Good times!

Do you have an all time favorite book? 

The Hero and the Crown, by Robin McKinley. It’s about a princess who discovers her own power to become a slayer of dragons who is then tasked with saving her kingdom from the sorcerer who murdered her mother.  Her best friend is a beloved, aged, injured horse, Talat, that she rehabilitates and uses as her dragon-slaying steed. AND she’s in a love triangle with a prince who is her childhood best friend and a magician who teachers her to use her powers.  Seriously, that book fires on all cylinders, and probably the reason I love books.

If you could meet two authors, who would you pick and why?

Robin McKinley (see above). Harper Lee, the author of To Kill a Mockingbird.  If I could go back in time, then I would also meet Kurt Vonnegut and Maurice Sendak. Why? Because I love their books-and I’d just want to thank them.

Please tell us about your current release.

Heart Break is a mystery-technothriller about a police officer, Isabel Swift, assigned to solve a burglary case involving equipment from a local university with a new partner, Mark Jameson. Learning to work with a new person is always an adjustment, but Isabel and Mark have different approaches to the work, and, as we learn, both are dealing with recent loss of a work partner or life partner. It’s a potent mix of opposite personalities and raw emotions, but, for me, as a writer, watching them discover how to work together and lean on one another to get through the case and through their grief was a joy.

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

That’s a good question! I wish I had certain traits of the characters. I wish I had Izzy’s swagger! She’s a good cop-she’s young and still needs to gain the experience she needs to become a detective, but she’s got a mouth and a lot of confidence-and I wish I had that same effortless faith in myself that she does.

This book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

The next book in the series is called Devil’s Breath! For the biologists or biology curious, it’s got a neuroscience centered plot, a secret affair, and betrayal. I’m aiming for a December/January release, and the first pages of it will be released soon on my blog and on the Heart Break website, so definitely check back soon!

Book Blurb

Heart BreakIsabel Swift is a savvy, down-to-earth, female police officer who protects the citizens of Westchester County and wants to become a detective. From a broken home, her brothers and sisters in blue are her family, and she is shaken by the recent, unexpected death of her mentor, Ben Carter, from what everyone thinks was a heart attack. On her first day back from leave, she is paired with an arrogant forensic data scientist, Mark Jameson, who is more interested in analyzing data than solving the crime of stolen technology to which they are assigned.

When their investigation uncovers an unexpected link between the theft and her mentor’s death, Swift and Jameson have only 48 hours to whittle down a countywide list of suspects, track down the stolen technology, and solve the mystery of Ben Carter’s death. Can Isabel overcome her grief and her differences with her new partner to solve the case and earn her detective’s badge?

About the Author

MF Moskwik is a writer, scientist, and cynophilist, living with two mischievous dogs in the Inland Northwest.

You can find out more about MK on her blog.

You can purchase Heart Break on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

