Packing and buying items for our cruise

In just six days, we will be rising early to head to the Port of Galveston. There we will board the Carnival Magic for seven days of fun…with the family.

Yes, our family cruise is almost here. And by family, I mean me, my husband, my two kids, my brother and my parents. It is the first time we have all gone on vacation together. It should be interesting to say the least.

Lexie is so excited to be going on a ship. Jase is too, but I expect him to be a little bit apprehensive when he actually sees the ship. He is our worrier so the safety of the ship will be on his mind as well as not letting Lexie on to the room balcony with any of her toys – especially her favorite stuffed animal, Snowball.

This is packing week. I already have my list of what needs to be packed so that I am not taking 14 outfits per person (that would be 7 day outfits and 7 evening outfits). The goal is to wear at least shorts (or jeans) more than one day and possibly wear our evening attire for dinner on more than one occasion. I hope this will cut down on the amount we want to take.

It is hard not to want to over pack. And this isn’t like a normal vacation where you can run to the store if you forget something or need additional of an item. We will be at sea, which means you either do without or hope to find the item in the ship’s shop where it will undoubtedly be overpriced.

91IcUKlJMqL._UL1500_We made a couple of purchases recently for the trip. One was a garment bag. We have sufficient suitcases but since we are bringing suits for the boys and nice dresses for the girls and cannot bring an iron, I wanted something that might transport these clothes with the least amount of wrinkles. I bought the bag on Amazon’s Prime Day Sale so it was 30% off and of course is something my husband can use for travel. He is an attorney so often needs to pack suits. Before we only had a bag that held one suit at a time, which was good for overnight trips.

I also bought a small purse for carrying my room key and whatever I need while I am up on deck. If I am in shorts, I figure I would just have stuff in my pockets but in a sundress, there is no way to carry your room key which in our case also lets the staff know we are on Carnival’s unlimited soda plan. You can’t get a soft drink (or juice) without your room key.

91gUSeAptTL._UL1500_I found this cute little purse on Amazon and bought both the grey and tan colors. I tried the tan one on my recent PTA leadership conference (more on that next week). It worked out great. It easily fit my iPhone 5, my car keys, ID, credit card and some money. Since I don’t carry a lot typically in my purse, I can see myself using this at home too.

71UQSXTAeML._SL1500_Another item that we bought earlier this year was digital cameras for each kid. I wanted something that each of them could easily use. The Nikon CoolPix S32 received good reviews and as a bonus, it is waterproof and shockproof.

DSCN0062We have spent part of the summer testing it out at Sea World and our neighborhood pool. It works great and is very easy to use. (The photo to the right was taken with this camera.)

Now I think we are ready for this cruise…or we have just a few more days to figure out if we have everything. I will give a report on our trip later this month. But just because I am gone next week, it doesn’t mean I won’t be posting. I already have topics scheduled so you guys won’t even miss me.

Leave a Reply

