Today’s Featured Author: Skye Hegyes

Today I welcome author Skye Hegyes to my blog. Her latest book, Puck’s Choice, is the first in a new series. Puck’s Choice came out in December.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Born in Germany while my parents were stationed overseas, I’ve lived in North Carolina since I was two except for a two-year stint in Montana between the ages of five and seven. I am married with two kids, and love my family more than anything in the world. There are also several animals in my life: a dog that stays at my parents’ house because of my lease agreement and they have more acreage for him to run on, two parakeets, and three cats.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

While I would like to one day write full time, at the moment, I can only say I write part time. I have a full-time job and work forty plus (40+) hours a week as a production associate at a factory that builds cab servers, so I can’t devote as much time to writing and still have a semblance of a life with my family. Maybe one day.

I tend to find time to write at both work and home. I work third shift and there is a lot of down-time sometimes. If I’m not online researching, replying to emails, or procrastinating on Facebook, I’m writing. I tend to write at work if there’s nothing to do.

At home, the process can be different, but not by much. Again, I tend to write for twenty-minute sprints, but in between each sprint, I take a ten-minute break in which I eat, drink or use the restroom. I tend to get more writing done, as it’s not interrupted by the things I need to do at work. Then again, there are kids, but they can be distracted with movies and food, which makes it easier.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

This varies from project to project. Sometimes I outline my works, and sometimes I just roll with the idea and see what happens. With larger works, I do at least complete a basic bullet-point outline with a couple of minor details—just little things I want to see happen in the work. Shorter projects tend to be just written out from start to finish. I take an idea, write it into a sentence or two that will become the “blurb” and write.

Please tell us about your current release.

My newest release came out in December. Puck’s Choice is the first book in the Shifters & Mages series, which is about witches and their familiars in the modern world. Puck is a fox shifter (familiar) who has spent over a year as a fox and is now getting used to a human life again and making up the year she missed as a junior in high school. It’s a new adult paranormal romance with some language, some sexual content, and a whole lot of magic and high school mayhem.

Which of your characters is your favorite? Do you dislike any of them?

Honestly, my favorite character seems to be everyone’s least favorite (of the good guys): Rand. I really can’t explain why he’s my favorite. I just know that if he was real and I met him, I’d hug him and squeeze him and never let him go.

In the same respect, my least favorite character is one everyone loves to hate by the end, Melinda. It was real easy to write her as a nasty mean, upfront character, but that didn’t make me like her anymore.

If this book is part of a series, what is the next book? Any details you can share?

Puck’s Choice is the first book in the Shifters & Mages series. I am currently working on editing book two, Jenna’s Story. Each book tends to follow a different character in the same world. Jenna is a teenage girl who can change into the form of a wolf. She doesn’t know who her father is, her mother ignores her existence, and her stepfather abuses her. It’s a tale about her growing into her own and discovering who and what she is.

Do you have a specific snack that you have with you when you write?

Chocolate is always a welcome snack. I’ve actually gotten in the habit of buying large bags of Hershey’s kisses (right now I’m still eating the chocolate truffles from Valentine’s Day). When I’ve reached a certain word count goal, I snack on seven kisses. Seven being my lucky number. On the weekends, when I’m writing at night, I also like to pour myself a glass of wine if I have any to sip at as I write.

What book are you reading right now?

Currently, I am reading Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux. It’s pretty good so far, and I hope to finish it soon and then watch the movie again. Another I am reading (I always seem to be reading more than one at a time) is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It’s one I’ve read multiple times in an attempt to understand it, but it wasn’t until I watched the movie that I even really recognized what was going on. Now I love it, and I come back and read it at least once a year.

Do you have an all-time favorite book?

There are a couple of books on this list. One is The Black Stallion by Walter Farley, which fed into my love of horses. Another is Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey. Mmmm… It’s a nice blend of romance, magic, battle, and everything a fantasy novel could ask for. A newer edition to this list has been Moon Called by Patricia Briggs. If you need an urban fantasy with a kick-ass heroine and a blend of fey, vampires, werewolves and other magical creatures, this one’s for you.

Book Blurb

PucksChoicePuck Dupree moved in with her sister after spending over a year trapped in the form of a fox. She had hoped to move on with a normal teenage life; however, trouble seems to have followed her.

 

The Council wants her to partner with a mage or forfeit her life, a friend of hers has a stalker who may or may not be trying to destroy her, and a boy at school keeps watching her. If only she could decide if he wants to kiss her or kill her.

About the Author

SkyeHegyes“Creativity: having a pencil in one hand and the paper below it. All that’s left is the writing.” ~Skye Hegyes

Dragons, wolves, and sharp objects are commonplace in Skye Hegyes’s home in North Carolina. She spends most of her time between writing and working. When not doing either of these things, you may find her making crafts or adventuring with her family, which consists of her husband, two daughters, two birds, and three cats… and a partridge in a pear tree…

You can find out more about Skye on her website or Facebook.

You can purchase Puck’s Choice on Amazon in either e-book format or as a paperback.

2 thoughts on “Today’s Featured Author: Skye Hegyes

  1. shegyes says:

    Thanks for having me. 🙂

  2. sjhigbee says:

    A really intriguing premise and I LOVE the cover:)). A super interview, as usual, Susan.

Leave a Reply

