V is for Voltron: Defender of the Universe #AtoZChallenge

VFor the A to Z Challenge, I am sticking with my normal blogging topics – Monday (parenting), Wednesday (Quotes) and Thursday (writing/publishing). But for the rest of the days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I have picked the theme of TV shows.

Today the letter is V, which is for the 80’s cartoon, Voltron: Defender of the Universe. (And how appropriate that it lands on a Saturday morning!)

voltornVoltron: Defenders of the Universe was an animated series about a group that piloted a giant super robot known as Voltron. It ran from September 1984 to November 1985. And as I have come to learn by talking to my husband who remembers this cartoon far better than I do, there were two different versions of this cartoon.

The first season featured the Lion Force Voltron where the five young pilots commanded five robot lions that formed Voltron. The second season changed the storyline considerably. There were then three groups of five divided into the Sea Team, The Land Team and the Air team. These 15 vehicles then could turn into Voltron.

dungeons-dragons-cartoon-movie-adaptationHonestly, I only have vague recollections of this show from the first season. But my husband has fond memories of it. Now I am kind of wishing I had picked the cartoon Dungeons & Dragons for my letter D instead of Dukes of Hazzard. Now that was a cartoon I remember watching and my kids even love watching now.

One thought on “V is for Voltron: Defender of the Universe #AtoZChallenge

  1. […] is for Voltron: Defenders of the Universe (TV […]

Leave a Reply

