L is for Law and Order #AtoZChallenge

LFor the A to Z Challenge, I am sticking with my normal blogging topics – Monday (parenting), Wednesday (Quotes) and Thursday (writing/publishing). But for the rest of the days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I have picked the theme of TV shows.

law order svuToday the letter is L which is for Law & Order and its spin-offs – Special Victims Unit and Criminal Intent. The original Law & Order (1990-2010) was a police procedural and legal drama airing on NBC. The first half of each episode showed the police investigating a crime and apprehending a suspect. The second half is the prosecution of the defendant. Plots were often based on real cases that recently made the headlines.

Law & Order Special Victims Unit (SVU) was the first spin off in 1999. Two years later, there was a second spin off – Criminal Intent that ran from 2001-2011. Besides SVU and Criminal Intent, there were several other short lived spin-offs – Trial by Jury (2005-2006) and LA (2010-2011). There is a British version Law & Order UK that began in 2009 and I assume is still running today.

Of these, I really have only watched the original and SUV. I tried Criminal Intent but didn’t like it. I have watched this only in syndication and not when it aired during prime time. Both of these are something that I would recommend.

4 thoughts on “L is for Law and Order #AtoZChallenge

  1. That show is huge with so many branches. I don’t know where to start. 🙂

  2. Visiting fellow writers during the #Challenge. Love discovering new blogs that teach me something. Thanks. If you have time, come and see what I’m up to. I’ll be watching for you.

  3. Susan says:

    Law and Order used to be my favorite show.

Leave a Reply

