J is for Joss Whedon #AtoZChallenge

JFor the A to Z Challenge, I am sticking with my normal blogging topics – Monday (parenting), Wednesday (Quotes) and Thursday (writing/publishing). But for the rest of the days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I have picked the theme of TV shows.

Today the letter is J which is for Joss Whedon. Yes, that isn’t a TV show but he has put out some great ones – Firefly, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I already covered Firefly under the letter F so I will concentrate on the others here.

Buffy-the-Vampire-SlayerWhedon’s first TV show that he created was Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Thankfully, it was nothing like the movie (which he also wrote.) The show ran from 1997 to 2003 (7 seasons) and starred Sarah Michelle Gellar as Buffy Summers, a vampire slayer and high school student.

Angel-tv-show-25As a spin-off of the successful Buffy TV show, Whedon started Angel, which ran for 5 season from 1999 to 2004. This one followed Angel, the vampire with a human soul, who battles demons in Los Angeles, California.

Both Buffy and Angel were great series and worth watching. I suggest you check them out.

Whedon followed those two successful TV series with the short-lived Firefly (2002) which I already wrote about on April 7th for the letter F. He then went on to do another short-lived TV series called Dollhouse which I didn’t watch.

His latest TV series stems from The Avengers – the 2010 movie hit he directed and wrote. Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. premiered in fall 2013 and is currently on its second season. While I enjoy it, I don’t like it as much as I liked Buffy and Angel but I would still recommend checking it out.

6 thoughts on “J is for Joss Whedon #AtoZChallenge

  1. raesquiggles says:

    I loved Buffy and Angel, Firefly too. Dollhouse was OK in places. Haven’t seen Shield. Always liked his wit.

  2. Julia Matthews says:

    Interesting facts. You are so right about Whedon having some amazing shows.

  3. hmccubbin says:

    Loved Firefly! And my 15 yo son is watching Buffy per a friend, so it may be making a comeback. Joss has great ideas and I’m still sad that Firefly never took off, but it has that cult following so it’ll never die 🙂
    I admit, I found Firefly when I was obsessed with Nathan F in “Castle” and went on IMDB to see what else he was in. Now I own the DVD “Firefly” and “Serenity” too!

    Thanks for posting! I am glad I stumbled over her for the A to Z Challenge!

    http://www.heathermccubbin.blogspot.com

  4. I used to watch Buffy religiously until the last season, which got a bit self involved and didn’t work as well for me. I’m still catching up with Agents of Shield, but I love Joss’ creative input into everything Avengers 🙂 I also think his Much Ado About Nothing is fantastic!
    Sophie
    Sophie’s Thoughts & Fumbles
    FB3X
    Wittegen Press

  5. clicksclan says:

    I should really try watching some of his shows. I don’t think I’ve ever seen more than one or two episodes of Buffy and Angel and they’re the sort of fandoms I would normally get totally involved in. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

  6. […] is for Joss Whedon (his other TV shows besides […]

Leave a Reply

