F is for Firefly #AtoZChallenge

FFor the A to Z Challenge, I am sticking with my normal blogging topics – Monday (parenting), Wednesday (Quotes) and Thursday (writing/publishing). But for the rest of the days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I have picked the theme of TV shows.

fireflyToday the letter is F which is for short-lived Fox TV show – Firefly. This was a space western that premiered in Fall of 2002 and lasted only one season of fourteen episodes. Though it was cancelled during that first season, Firefly and Serenity, the movie based on the series, have a large cult following.

Firefly was set in the year 2517 and followed the lives of the crew of a firefly-class spaceship, Serenity. It was a mix of science fiction with the space travel and a western in the manner of character dress and the fact that they used guns reminiscent of the Wild West.

I did not watch Firefly when it originally aired but was introduced to it probably seven years ago. My husband and I liked it so well, we own the series as well as the movie. If you haven’t seen it, I definitely think it is worth a look. This is a show I wish they hadn’t cancelled.

8 thoughts on “F is for Firefly #AtoZChallenge

  1. You’re the second person to do Firefly today 🙂 Good choice. I love it and I love the movie too. Great cast and great writing.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

  2. sjhigbee says:

    Oh yes:)) I have been a recent convert to Firefly as Syfy has been showing the whole series. Thank you for blogging about it!

  3. I recently told someone they needed to watch Firefly, but warned them they might hate me later because of it. LOL

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Member of C. Lee’s Muffin Commando Squad
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

  4. Never seen… but sounds interesting… esp 2517!

  5. eclecticalli says:

    I saw it well after cancellation, and will admit it took me a while to get into it (I now love the pilot episode, but at first it just wasn’t catching me). Now I adore it, one of the few shows that I’ve re-watched a few times 🙂

  6. I didn’t discover this show until many many years after it was cancelled, and I was so disappointed. I get irrationally excited for the cast members whenever I see them in something. Except for Adam Baldwin. He’s a jerk.

Leave a Reply

