Making Education a Priority for A to Z Challenge

EjpgI often tell my kids they have one job – school. Their job is to learn. Today on the A to Z Challenge, it is the letter E so I decided to talk about Education.

Now when I decided on this topic for the challenge, I was thinking about formal education as in school, though I know kids learn so much in other places – the biggest being at home.

My kids are 7 and 9, which places them in first and third grade at our local elementary school. They both work hard and enjoy school. We have explained to them why their job as students is so important.

An education, we can at least hope, will prepare them for later. It will help them learn the basics they will need to get a good job and to survive in the world. And what they learn now is the foundation for further learning.

But it is more than just about leading them to a good job or career. Learning about the world builds character. It helps them make better decisions. The knowledge they learn can help them form opinions and develop a point of view.

And as they progress through school to middle school and then high school and finally college, I hope they continue their thirst for knowledge. And yes, we will be encouraging both kids to attend college.

I know that going to a university is not for everyone, but I think it will open up their world even more. It will introduce them to new experiences and to a variety of people. There is more learning at college than the classes you take.

Composite of graduation cap with diploma uid 1279578And with a college degree, their career paths will widen as an educated individual has a better chance of getting a job. I don’t want them to merely get by in life. I want them to succeed. And I think having a college degree will improve those chances. So as they get older, we will talk to them about college and their options.

But whether they go to college or choose a different route is not as important, as long as they are learning.

7 thoughts on “Making Education a Priority for A to Z Challenge

  1. I always loved learning as a child – still do, and it’s great you are trying to teach your kids the wonders of education.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

  2. Tracy Moore says:

    Yes, I agree with you! Education is so important. I am still learning and always have a thirst for more. It is great that you are instilling this into your children. Great post!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Keep up the great job on influencing them as long as you can !

  4. shawn says:

    I agree that education is paramount, but as you pointed out, formal university is not for everyone. There are many ways to learn in this wide world. I still think that one needs a plan, even if not going to a university. My dad is 92 and still reads books about history, gardening, photography, etc. Great A-to-Z article.

  5. Kathy says:

    Engaged, thought-full parents like you make all the difference. I think that music and travel have been 2 of the most valued parts of my education.
    Your A-Z friend Kathy

  6. I’m an educator and always tell my students that I’ll be learning new things until the day I die… learning NEVER ends. 🙂
    Writer In Transit

  7. […] is for Making Education a […]

Leave a Reply

