D is for The Dukes of Hazards #AtoZChallenge

DFor the A to Z Challenge, I am sticking with my normal blogging topics – Monday (parenting), Wednesday (Quotes) and Thursday (writing/publishing). But for the rest of the days (Tuesday, Friday and Saturday), I have picked the theme of TV shows.

dukes

Today the letter is D which is for the 80’s TV show The Dukes of Hazard. This series ran for seven seasons from January 1979 to February 1985. It followed the adventures of Bo and Luke Duke as they evade the crooked county commissioner Boss Hogg and the country sheriff Roscoe P. Coltrane.

One of the most memorable “characters” of the show isn’t a person at all but the car that Bo and Luke drove. The General Lee was a 1969 Dodge Charger and noticeable in its orange paint job with the number 01 on the doors and a confederate flag on the top.

I remember watching this with my brother as we grew up. It was a fun show. I think it is even still shown on cable TV. It is probably very “dated” but could be good for some laughs if you can catch an episode.

9 thoughts on “D is for The Dukes of Hazards #AtoZChallenge

  1. saracsnider says:

    I remember my older sisters kissing the TV screen whenever The Dukes of Hazard was on. I, however, being six, thought the boys were icky and I wrinkled my nose. That’s pretty much all I remember about that show. 😉

  2. I used to like The Dukes of Hazard, it was fun and daft and I used to fancy Bo 🙂
    Sophie
    Sophie’s Thoughts & Fumbles
    FB3X
    Wittegen Press

  3. Joan Lindgren says:

    I’m sure your brother would remember Daisy Duke and her tight fitting shorts!!!!!

  4. Megan Morgan says:

    Oh gosh, this takes me back to my childhood! I watched it every day after school!

  5. Debbie D. says:

    Loved the car, but the show? Not so much. LOL As I recall there was also a movie made of this TV series in 2005. John Schneider (Bo Duke) is easy on the eyes (even now) and has a lovely singing voice. 🙂

  6. Sonia Lal says:

    I’ve heard of this, but never seen it!

  7. Shell Flower says:

    My family gathered together to watch this show every Friday night back in the 80s. It was the only time us kids got soda pop during the week. Fun times.

  8. Sean P Carlin says:

    On account of THE DUKES OF HAZZARD’s rural setting and (generally) low-tech storytelling, it’s aged far better than ’70s/’80s time capsules like STARSKY & HUTCH and KNIGHT RIDER. (The General Lee looks as timeless as ever!)

    The series’ storytelling is often very sloppy, relying on coincidence and needlessly stupid characters to propel the convoluted plots (and the character development is nonexistent by any standard), but DUKES was always a triumph of casting over characterization or plotting: The roles are so well cast — and the chemistry amongst the actors so infectious — that the show manages to entertain me now as much as it did back in the day! (Wopat and Schneider recently reprised the roles in an AutoTrader advertising campaign, and looked to be having as much fun as ever: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6syCBrvmJ68) True, most of the stories serve merely as an excuse for some elaborate car chase, but the stunt work still holds up, even in a post–FAST & FURIOUS world. The giddy thrill of watching that ’69 Charger go airborne is enough to get me to take off my “critic’s hat” and just sit back and enjoy the flight.

  9. […] is for The Dukes of Hazard (TV […]

Leave a Reply

