Today’s Featured Author: Anne Conley

Today I welcome author Anne Conley to my blog. Her novella, The Best Laid Plans of Boys and Men, came out last month.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m one of those people that never really found my place in the world until I started writing.  I never was happy being just a wife, just a mom, just a teacher, whatever.  I’ve been through so many “careers” it’s not even funny.  When I stopped writing for release and started writing for other people, I found my passion.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Houston, TX, but my husband and I moved to a rural part of the state to start our family.  We haven’t second-guessed that decision.  We live on some property in the country, and love every minute of raising country brats.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

When I first started writing for public consumption, a lot of my own experiences were in my books.  Now that I’m on book fifteen, not so much.  I find myself having more and more ‘out there’ ideas that require research.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

Currently, I’m working on the conclusion to my Paranormal Romance series, The Four Winds, about the archangels. It’s supposed to be finished, but readers wanted a HEA for the antagonist in the rest of the books, so I’ve figured out how to wrap my head around making the Devil a Hero.  As a Christian, that was hard.  This series is different, as it has sex in it, like the rest of my books, but it’s also got some Christian aspects to it.  It was really difficult to figure out how to make my readers happy without feeling like I’m going straight to hell in a handbasket.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

Yes, I do.  Typically, I get up at 5:00 am and do my social media stuff by the time I wake up the kids.  After taking them to school, I write until 2:00, when I go and pick them up.  My afternoons and evenings are family time, with a few social media check-ins when everyone else is occupied on their own electronics.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

I outline. I can’t just start writing.  I’ve tried, with disastrous results.  A lot of people can do that, but not me.  I’ve got to have a clear direction written out beforehand.  I deviate a lot from my outline, but if I don’t know how the story ends, I can’t make it stop.

Please tell us about your current release.

My current release is a short novella called The Best Laid Plans of Boys and Men, about a whirlwind May/December romance between a hairdresser and the lawyer who’s suing her.

What inspired you to write this book?

It was honestly an attempt at some fluffy writing after writing on some serious subject matter that I needed to get out of my head.  I’ve always enjoyed reading about older men with younger women, and this seemed like a fun thing for me to do.

How did you come up with the title?

The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men has always been a favorite of mine, and I wanted something to illustrate that no matter what we plan, there’s always some cog in the wheel.  I also wanted to illustrate the difference between boys and men, which is a theme of the book.

Do you have an all time favorite book?

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See is my all time favorite book.  I have made every woman close to me read it.  It has timeless messages about womanhood and friendship that everyone needs to be exposed to, in my opinion.  I love that book.

Book Blurb

bestlaidplansmallerThe Best Laid Plans of Boys and Men tells the story of the whirlwind May/December romance between Taylor and Alexander. While Taylor is completely caught off guard by Alexander’s maturity and the difference between him and every other boy she’s dated, Alexander’s busy trying to figure out how to tell her he’s the lawyer suing her pants off.

This is a standalone story of approximately 30 thousand words, not part of any of Anne Conley’s series.

About the Author

anne ConleyAnne has written her entire life and has the boxes of angst-filled journals and poetry to prove it.  She’s been writing for public consumption for the last four years.  Currently she is writing two romance series.  In Stories of Serendipity, she explores real people living real lives in small town Texas in a contemporary romance setting.  In The Four Winds, she chronicles God’s four closest archangels, Uriel, Gabriel, Raphael, and Michael, falling in love and becoming human.  She lives in rural East Texas with her husband and children in her own private oasis, where she prides herself in her complete lack of social skills, choosing instead to live with the people inside her head.

You can find out more about Anne on her website. Or follow her on Twitter or Facebook.

You can purchase The Best Laid Plans of Boys and Men on Amazon.

 

 

 

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author: Anne Conley

  1. Jay says:

    Book fifteen? Wow, that’s impressive. I admire anyone who has published multiple books. Good luck with ‘Best Laid Plans..’

Leave a Reply

