Even when I want to say no…it doesn’t work

My husband often says I take on too much, and that I need to learn to say no. Yeah, that hasn’t stopped my yet. But after slacking off during the kids’ winter break, I felt a little overwhelmed last week as I tried to get caught up.

I had just spent almost all of Wednesday taking care of our financial records from the end of the year and doing some tax work for my husband’s law firm. So Thursday morning came, and I was thinking of all the things I needed to get done – especially with publishing a book in only two and a half weeks.

I spent the time preparing my kids’ school lunches talking myself out of going to my volunteer time in Jase’s class. I go every Thursday for about an hour to help with their math stations but it is after all a volunteer job. They can certainly do without me. And then Jase came downstairs….

“Do you know what today is?” he asked, excitedly.

“Thursday.”

“Yes! And you know what that means?”

“We are closer to the weekend?”

Jase laughed. “No. It means someone will be in my classroom today!”

I was in shock. He seemed so excited that I would be there. He has never really shown that before. So after deciding I had better things to do with my time, I quickly changed my mind again. I would go help out his class. It is after all only an hour, and he so wanted me there. I want to keep being involved while the kids are excited about it. I know the day will probably come where they are rolling their eyes and grumbling about their mom being at their school. But we aren’t there yet.

You know, when I volunteer to do these things – work in Jase’s class, do our homeowner association newsletter or run the HOA activities’ committee – I always do so because it seems like it will take such little time. Volunteering in Jase’s class is just an hour a week. The HOA newsletter comes out quarterly and takes less than an hour to put together. We also have the two HOA pool parties down so that it takes shopping at just two stores and about thirty minutes to set up (plus an hour and a half for the actual party.)

So it never seems like a big deal to sign up for these things. Of course, all those “little” projects do add up, and they do take away time from my writing time. I could have used last Thursday to finish formatting my novel. But instead, I made my son happy. It was worth it. Not to mention I had the weekend to finish working on my new release.

Check back on my blog tomorrow as I reveal the cover for The Heir to Alexandria. It will be available on Amazon starting Tuesday, January 27th.

One thought on “Even when I want to say no…it doesn’t work

  1. Joan Lindgren says:

    As a former teacher, you might be surprised teachers appreciate those who volunteer and also are excited for your help. Keep going as long as you can. It’s well worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

