Buying the kids’ Halloween Costumes

Anyone who knows me knows I am a planner. We will never be the family on Halloween still trying to find a discount costume. For as much as I like a bargain, I won’t want to wait until the last minute.

Who am I kidding? Like I said – planner here! I won’t even be waiting a week before Halloween to purchase the kids’ costumes. We had our costumes bought in the middle of September. No, we didn’t rush out and buy them as soon as stores started stocking them. I purchased them online. I have done this the past few years and love it.

Not only can I find a costume in the size I want (without running all over the town to find that size), but I get it at an awesome price which is lower than our local stores. I have bought them off E-bay (brand new), Amazon or Walmart’s website and usually saved 20-30% off the normal retail price. Add in the free shipping and these costumes are always great deals.

IMG_2465Now if I was a crafty-type momma, I would be making my kids unique costumes. But I am too busy for that and frankly, not that crafty. I did make a pirate costume for Jase’s third-grade performance. I just cut up some clothes we already had and added a $2 eye patch. Of course, he lost the eye patch the day before the performance, so we added a maroon pirate scarf for his head. I thought it turned out great. But this is the extent of my craftiness. I don’t sew but can use scissors!

So this year, Jase originally said he wanted to be a knight. But while looking online, he saw an ARF Trooper. For those of you not up to snuff on your Star Wars knowledge, an Advanced Recon Force trooper (or simply ARF Trooper) was used to scout enemy positions and sometimes to carry out surprise attacks. They wear special camouflaged armor. Jase being a big Clone Wars/Star Wars fan fell in love with this costume. It came in early enough that he even wore it to the Alamo City Comic Con at the end of September.

CIMG3400Now Lexie, on the other hand, has changed her mind a few times. For a while, she wanted to be a pink Power Ranger. But she kept coming back to Queen Elsa (from the movie Frozen – in case you have been hiding under a rock or don’t have kids). She received a Queen Elsa costume for her birthday. Originally, I was just going to buy her the wig/hair piece that she wanted. And then while on E-bay I saw a different Elsa dress I liked. It was cheap as it came from China, and they sold it with a tiara, wand and Elsa hair braid. Perfect. Lexie loves it. And she too wore it to the Comic Con and people raved about it.

So this year we are all set for Halloween. Now it is just a matter of not letting them ruin their new costumes and not losing any of the pieces like we did on that pirate costume. There are only 18 more days until the big candy-hauling night.

One thought on “Buying the kids’ Halloween Costumes

  1. shegyes says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who shops early for Halloween costumes. The girls (Supergirl and Spidergirl this year) got to pick theirs the last week of September. I think I’ll try ordering theirs online next year as well!

Leave a Reply

