Publishing your novel recap – part 2

I usually like to have my week’s post done at least a week in advance but last week I struggled to write something for today. My dear friend passed away on Monday, August 25, 2014 after a long battle with cancer. You can read more about her (and my fundraising efforts for her family) here.

So I am taking the easy way out this week and posting a recap of some of the posts that I have written about publishing your book. You can check out my first recap done in June 2013 by clicking here.

Tips for choosing your novel’s title – Choosing the title for your book can be one of the hardest decisions. You want the title to be catchy enough to intrigue a reader and short so it doesn’t fill up the entire front cover. Your title is part of the overall impression about the book. It sets the tone and creates an expectation. (To continue reading, click here.)

proofEditor or proofreader – which do you need? Many people confuse copy proofreading and copy editing. So what is the difference and which do you need to hire? (To continue reading, click here.)

Selecting an Author Photo – Last May, I wrote a blog with tips for drafting your author bio. Because I feature authors on my blogs, I see all types of author bios – some good and some really bad ones. (Remember – short and relevant and above all don’t list every book or award you have ever published or won.) Now while not all authors supply me with an author photo, I get bad and good ones of those too. (To continue reading, click here.)

Choosing to self-publish an e-book over a print book –  When I first decided to self-publish, the obvious choice to me was to do an electronic book. E-books are inexpensive – no press costs, no worry about storage, inventory or shipping.

But I admit it would be nice to hold my own book, feel the smooth cover or the pages as you flip through it. And it would be awesome to see it on an actual bookstore shelf. (To continue reading, click here.)

Promoting within your novels within your (or someone else’s) book – As an independent author, promoting my books is always high on my list of things to do. One of the easiest ways – and sometimes the most overlooked – is promoting within your published book. (To continue reading, click here.)

Don’t be in a rush to self-publish – You’ve dreamed of the day when you can hold in your hands a copy of your own book. You imagine showing it off to friends and family as you proudly declare you ARE an author. But as you are preparing to self-publish your own book, I urge you to make sure you – or more importantly your book – are ready. (To continue reading, click here.)

Hopefully, you will find some useful information in these posts. And I promise a new post will be up next Thursday.

Leave a Reply

