Needing to set aside time for marketing my book

Every self-published author will need to spend time marketing their books to successful sell their books. I have written on this topic before, but since it is a major part of book publishing, I felt it needed to be revisited – especially since I have become guilty of not marketing my books lately.

Ugh. I barely feel I have time to write my latest work in progress let alone have time for marketing. It has been a busy couple of months with the end of school year activities, birthdays and vacations. I barely have done more than work on my blog and send out an occasional promotional tweet.

Gone are the days when I actively promoted my trilogy by finding blogs to be featured on or soliciting reviews. I know there are those authors that can fit it into their daily schedule, but I only have so many free hours and unfortunately I have not been using them to market my current books. But I know that needs to change.

To do this, I am going to have to devote some time each week to marketing. But how much time? I searched the internet and could not find an answer or even an estimation on how much marketing an indie author needs to do. The bad thing is, even if I could find out that magical number, what worked for one person, will not work for another. Just as there is no one-size-fits-all plan for marketing there is no certain set amount of time that an author should spend on marketing.

The best marketing advice at least for newer authors is continue to write. By having multiple books, you increase your credence as an author. Actually, this works for all authors. With each published book, you broaden your appeal and add credibility to your name. There are many readers who when they discover a new author they like, they scoop up every other book that author has written.

And in the beginning, I followed this write-more-books advice. I spent more time writing than marketing. But now with my trilogy complete and feeling as if I have fallen behind in working on my next book, I have lost sight of my marketing plan.

Heck, who I am kidding. The one thing I and many other authors fail at is establishing a marketing plan. Many authors don’t even take the time to figure out who their target audience is. And that is one thing you MUST do to market your book successfully. You need to find who will be interested in your book and reach them through your marketing efforts.

The stories about authors who succeeded without any marketing are rare. Most books, even the really good ones, will become lost in the jumble of the millions of other available titles unless something is done to make them stand out, to make them become discoverable to their target audience.

Marketing takes time. Not just the time to do it but the time to see results. You have to keep working at marketing to be successful. Remember that this is a marathon and not a sprint. You need to be in it for the long haul. You have to be a relentless self-promoter.

Unfortunately, many people don’t have the time or patience for that.

So from now on, I am going to start making time for marketing. It probably won’t be daily but even marketing a little each week should help me reach more potential readers.

For some great marketing tips for self-published books, read this post. If you have a print book, check out these marketing tips.

One thought on “Needing to set aside time for marketing my book

  1. sjhigbee says:

    Hi Susan,
    Thank you for this article – it really gave me loads of helpful advice… I’m working on the last book of a trilogy I intend to self publish towards the end of the year, so I’m beginning to look at this issue seriously. Your honest and no nonsense approach, including the links, have been invaluable.

Leave a Reply

