Today’s Featured Author: Dee Dee M. Scott

Today I welcome author Dee Dee M. Scott to my blog to discuss her latest release Sent from Heaven.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself. 

I am author of several Amazon best-selling books. I am also a screenwriter, playwright, director, publisher and movie producer.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born and raised in Florence, South Carolina. I now reside in Columbia and also live in Atlanta during the Summer.

What or who inspired you to start writing?

My husband. He brought me the first computer to stop me from handwriting my stories.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I wrote my first book and typed: the end. I had been writing poetry and other handwritten stories , but once I completed the first typed book, I knew I was a writer and that I  had found my passion.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

None. I allow my characters to tell and drive the stories.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

No, I also run A DDMS ENTERTAINMENT. The company is comprised of four companies: publishing, film, theater and Awesome Scott PR firm. I’m in my office daily working with signed or newly signed authors, or I may be holding auditions or working with my husband who heads Awesome Scott PR firm and manages several clients.

What is the best and worst advice you ever received? (regarding writing or publishing)

The best advice was: to get started and not to worry about how much time it would take because the time would past anyway. The worst advice I received was not to self publish because self published authors are less likely to be successful or sale books. I’m happy I didn’t listen.

What is the best thing about being a writer? The worst?

The best thing is being able to be creative. The worst is finding the time to write all of the stories inside of my head.

What fuels you as an author to continue to write?

I feel like it is a blessing to have the gift to write. I don’t take this blessing lightly and I want to use it to the fullest.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

They just come to me and I have to get it out so the characters will stop talking.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

I’ve done both. With My Husband’s Woman, I completed the character chart for my characters and wrote the story with no outline at all. For Sent From Heaven, I did an outline. Still I got new ideas while writing and my back outline was not followed.

What book are you reading right now?

The Dream Keeper and Other Poems by Langston Hughes.

Book Description

Sent from HeavenBest-selling romance author Maya Smith’s life is far different from the characters she creates in her novels. Left to raise a baby without the assistance of the married father, she has given up on finding a prince on a white horse to rescue her. 

Enter Cardiologist and single father, Ford Tucker. Dr. Tucker is all work and no play. He has dedicated his life to work and raising his daughter. When Ford becomes Maya’s Cardiologist, he is instantly smitten with her. 

Sparks fly and the passion’s hot as ever between the two. But just when Ford thinks he has finally found Ms. Right, and Maya thinks she’s found her prince, a devastating secret is revealed that will rock the core of their relationship. Will their bond survive the terrible secret? Or will Ford end up alone and Maya prince less?

About the Author

de7Dee Dee M. Scott was born and raised in Florence, South Carolina. Scott wrote, produced and directed:My Husband’s Woman-The Stage Play based on her first book. Dee Dee resides in Columbia, South Carolina with her husband and their children.

You can purchase Dee Dee’s books on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

