My kids’ lack of care with their possessions

Just an instant before it hit the water, I realized the doll my daughter tossed into the bathtub was a singing (electronic voice box) doll. Even though my son fished it out quickly, I feared the damage had been done.

I tried the tip they tell you with cell phone. I removed the batteries and placed the doll in some rice to get the water out of the electronic section. At first, I didn’t think it worked. But an hour after I had put the batteries back in, my daughter tried it, and it worked! Yeah!

elsaWhat annoyed me was the lacsidaical attitude my kids had about possibly ruining a brand-new toy. My son’s first words when I said she probably ruined it was that it didn’t matter if it sang or not. This was the gift that I spent months looking for and had ended up purchasing off E-bay. It was not an expensive doll at $30, but the novelty of it was that Elsa sang her “Let it Go” song when you held her hands. Thankfully, she can still do that, but they were lucky this time.

And although Elsa lives to sing another day, other toys have not faired so well. And I know there will be others in the future that will be broken by a careless child. What bothers me the most is the lack of concern my kids sometimes have for their toys. They have so many toys that I don’t think they care if one gets broken.

Lexie has drawn on her dolls faces before and with a Sharpie no less. If something breaks, their attitude is “oh, we can get another one.” I don’t know where they get that from as we have never replaced a toy for them that they broke. Even when Lexie broke a Wii game disc, it was not replaced.

In March, two days before the Elsa doll took her near ill-fated swim, I received a message from the school library. Lexie had not turned in her library book from the end of February. (Don’t even get me started on why it took them a month to tell me.) I explained to Lexie that if we couldn’t find the book, we would have to pay for it. Did she care? Nope. What’s it to her if I pay for a book? Even telling her that I could take it out of her allowance had no effect on her. Of course, I have to remember she just turned six and the concept of money has not come as easy to her as it has Jase.

We give them an allowance to help them learn about money. It is a constant learning process. In fact, recently Jase has become concerned about money and whether we had enough to pay for things like his karate class. I willingly showed him our bank account and talked briefly about our bills and how we budget for fun things like karate and our upcoming vacation.

I just my children can learn to value and appreciate the things they have or that are given to them. And this means taking care of their toys. But I guess from looking at their continually messy rooms that this lesson hasn’t been learned yet.

One thought on “My kids’ lack of care with their possessions

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    Good luck. In my family, we were pretty rough with our toys. But, my mother made us fix any toys we broke… so my sister and I learned all about sewing for our teddy bears, and so on.

    I teach that age, and I think it’s just one of those phases, too. (Hint: if you ever have Sharpie stuck on something, use a dry erase marker over it, and then wipe with a tissue…. it’ll come off!)

Leave a Reply

