Today’s Featured Author: Tyrolin Puxty

Today, I welcome Tyrolin Puxty to my blog to discuss her book, Dumb Luck.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.  

I’m completely obsessed with Pokemon and I am a self-confessed chocoholic. I love conspiracy theories; probably because they’re the essence of beautiful storytelling.

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I come from the Land of Oz (Australia) and home is where my cats are.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

If I wrote full time, I would probably get nothing done due to my uncanny ability to procrastinate. I worked in law for 2 years as a paralegal and I hated it. I liked creating contracts for home buyers, but helping criminals wasn’t part of my moral code. It was an unpleasant environment, so I left and now I run a Glee Club and private singing lessons, in between working in disabilities and writing for Discover Magazine. Writing usually takes place late at night when I can’t sleep!

What fuels you as an author to continue to write?

Positive feedback definitely fuels my passion. I had an eleven year old tell me how my book changed her life and inspired her not to succumb to peer pressure. That made me realize the power of words. Regardless whether I’m rich or destitute, writing is part of who I am and I will always remember that little girl.

Please tell us about your current release.

Dumb Luck is a comedy narrative. It revolves around a popular girl called Stacey who moves schools to prove she can join any “it crowd” as part of a bet. I was tired of reading stories about underdogs, so that’s why I made Stacey popular. I was never popular myself, but I was friends with them. It was surreal to watch the mask they wore in public. They were so rude to anyone that wasn’t in their clique, but I learnt that it was because they were insecure about themselves. They weren’t cliché gossips or obsessed with their looks – instead, their friends were like family and they didn’t want anyone else to intrude. It took years to get to know them and I was shocked when two girls confided in me. I couldn’t understand how someone with such confidence (and awesomeness) could be so self-doubting. That was the moment I realised that behind closed doors, we all have pain, insecurities and worries. Even your worst enemy has a grey day; so just be kind.

What inspired you to write this book?

I wrote Dumb Luck when I was teenager so that people could grasp the reality of High School. 40 year old women don’t know what it’s like to be a teenager in this era and it comes across in their books. I wanted this to be raw and real as possible.

How did you come up with the title?

A documentary of Seinfeld was in the background when I was writing. I was struggling with a name when Jerry Seinfeld said “it was just dumb luck that our show got on the air”. That’s when I knew I found the perfect title.

What kind of research did you do for this book?

There’s a scene where Stacey gets into trouble with the law. At 15, I had no idea what the penalty was for driving without a license, so I had to ask my police officer uncle about it.

Did you base any of your characters on real people?

*cough* No. But in all seriousness, there wasn’t anyone had in mind when creating my characters. I stole a few “blonde” one-liners from my friend at school, who said things like; “my boyfriend and I have the same last name. If I found out we were cousins, I’d still sleep with him. What’s done is done. Literally.” She said something along those lines and it was too funny not to adapt into my writing. She was joking, but she had a point. Fun girl, that one!

If you could be one of the characters from any of your books, who would it be and why?

It wouldn’t be anyone from Dumb Luck, because I’m already like them. I always put part of myself into all of my characters. Stacey is the dorky side of me, Renee is the prim side and Alley is…well, she’s my worst nightmare. I think I would choose Kali from my next book, The Overcast, because she’s a powerful gypsy who is sexy and incredibly selfish – so naturally, she gets everything she wants.

Do you have a specific snack that you have with you when you write?

I discovered a long time ago that I cannot eat when I write. I end up staring at the screen and cramming copious amount of grapes or chocolate into my mouth!

Do you have an all time favorite book?

The Night Circus, Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend and The Giver.

What book are you reading right now?

I’m actually reading a book about reincarnation. It’s weird and not usually something I’d read, but the stories of children who supposedly remember past lives has me hooked. Regardless whether it’s real or not; it’s a good story!

 Book Description

dumb luckIn Dumb Luck, main character Stacey Hopkins had everything most girls only ever dream of, including popularity. When her best friends move to another school and bet that Stacey wouldn’t make one single friend if she were to enroll, everything goes downhill.

Determined to prove them wrong, Stacey goes to extremes to prove to the girls (and everyone else) that she can fit in anywhere. The twist? A cute guy that just happens to care about her.

After encounters with the police, a near death experience and a public “flash”, Stacey comes to realize just how difficult popularity can be…

About the Author

tyrolinTyrolin is a Jack, or more accurately, a Tyrolin of all trades.

Tyrolin has been in the Top 25 of the Australian Songwriters Association for two consecutive years, and in 2013, her song Mask was a finalist in the Musicoz Australian Independent Artists. In 2014, Tyrolin was awarded an Australia Day Award for the Glen Johnston Memorial – Music. You can find her on iTunes.

As for her writing, Tyrolin has won several poetry and writing competitions. She has been writing for Discover Magazine and several newspapers for four years. You can buy her book, Dumb Luck —  a comedy for all ages — online and in most stores. She is currently working on a screenplay and two novels.

Tyrolin also likes to write in third person.

Find out more about Tyrolin on her website or her blog.

You can purchase Dumb Luck on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

