Today’s Featured Author: Diane Williams

Today, I welcome author Diane Williams to my blog to discuss her latest release, Angels in Action.

Interview

What or who inspired you to start writing?

My mother inspired me to start writing. She told me that I talk a lot, so I should write. She used to say, “You talk too much, no one wants to hear all that talking. So write it down, and those who want to read it will read it!” Then she brought me a pencil and a pad of paper, and told me to start writing.

Do you write full-time? If so, what is your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?

Yes, I do write full time. I write all day, for seven to eight hours per day. I also do marketing, promotions, and public relations for probably an hour or so a day.

What is the best thing about being a writer? The worst?

The best thing about being a writer is the freedom. The worst thing is the rewriting, rewriting, and rewriting.

Please tell us about your current release.

Angels in Action is my personal account of learning to access and utilize my inner power to overcome adversity.

What inspired you to write this book?

When I saw the miracles in my life I wanted to share them with others, because I know problems are universal. I wanted them to know that the power and the answers are there within them—there’s always an answer, you just have to access it!

How did you come up with the title?

I called the book Angels in Action because for each situation, someone came out of the unexpected, something miraculous happened, and I knew it had to be an angel. Although that happened on earth, I knew that it was an angel in action, because the actions of angels produced miracles.

What was the most difficult thing/scene to write in this story?

The most difficult story for me to write was “Touched With Caution.” I felt like that situation, although I learned a lot from it, didn’t turn out to be completed for the best, and didn’t go in a positive direction. I learned the lesson too late.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

My next project is The Invisible Child, which is about my daughters’ struggles between being my caregivers and having their own identities. It is an account of the first ten years after my diagnosis of rheumatoid arthritis, which caused my use of a wheelchair.

If you could jump in to any book, and live in that world, which would it be?

I think it would be The Audacity of Hope, by Barack Obama. I would love to live the life he led before the presidency, because he was so positive, he was so driven, he was so self-motivated and passionate about his work. He knew what he wanted and what his purpose was, and I liked the fact that he was real with himself. He knew he wasn’t the privilege-born child… that’s why it’s called The Audacity of Hope. Because of his personality, he was able to attract people of all walks of life to him. He would go that extra mile, and he never gave up. I would love to have those qualities and the opportunity to use them for something great. But I do NOT want to be the president… that goal, I do not have!

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?

I love to write in my backyard! I like the beauty, and the serenity, and the sounds of the birds… it’s so peaceful.

What book are you reading right now?

I am reading The President’s Devotionals, by Joshua Dubois.

If you could meet two authors, who would you pick and why?

I would definitely want to meet Maya Angelou, she’s my favorite author. I think the other would have to be Shel Silverstein… he has such an imagination!

Book Blurb

Angels in ActionAngels in Action is an inspirational book full of spiritual lessons and devotional reflections. It contains seventeen incidents of divine intervention, or “angel moments,” that took place in my life. Each narrative demonstrates how a woman learns to live with the knowledge and strength afforded by a relationship with a power greater than herself and how she is transformed into a self-actualized individual by communing with her inner spirit.

About the Author

Diane Williams is a full-time freelance writer of books, book reviews, profiles, and journalistic feature articles. A graduate of the Masters of Communication program at the University of La Verne and lifetime student at the university, Williams’ works have been published in When God Makes Lemonade, Guideposts, Angels on Earth, PLUS, Pray! magazine, and the San Dimas Writer’s Workshop’s Tales from the Authors: Stories, Essays, and Poetry Vol. 1. She is currently working on her second, soon-to-be-released book: The Invisible Child: A Memoir.

Check out Diane’s blog or find her on Facebook.

You can purchase Angels in Action on Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

