K is for kite flying #AtoZchallenge

KToday on the A to Z challenge, I thought I would go with something a little more unusual for the letter K and talk about kite flying.

My kids are fascinated by kites but they love the idea of flying them more than the actual event.

Skies 001

Every summer when we go to the beach, there are people flying kites. And I am talking about the really nice ones with long tails and huge wing spans.

We typically just buy the cheap ones at the grocery store or even at the dollar store. I guess that could explain why they don’t fly so well. You get what you pay for. But with Star Wars characters or Barbie on them, they have such a high appeal to the kids.

It has been a year since we last tried to fly a kite. Let’s just say it didn’t go too well. I don’t believe it was really windy enough. Or we might have had better luck going to a park where we have room to run. But until they see someone else flying a kite (or we make it back to the beach) I think I am just fine with not trying to fly a kite this year.

4 thoughts on “K is for kite flying #AtoZchallenge

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    A great choice for this letter, I love Kites, just can’t fly one! I have given your blog a shout out from my letter K today http://rosieamber.wordpress.com/

  2. TuiSnider says:

    I love flying kites! A few years ago, I went to a kite festival. As luck would have it – there was not even the slightest breeze to be had that day, and it was 110 degrees! Even so my friends and I had a lot of fun that day, and bringing it up is always good for a laugh!

    ~Tui Snider~
    @TuiSnider on Twitter
    My blog: Tui Snider’s Offbeat & Overlooked Travel
    I am also part of the #StoryDam team, a friendly writing community!
    .

  3. Just stopping by from the A-Z list to say “Hi” and wish you good luck with the rest of the challenge 🙂

    Do you know what, i have NEVER been Kite flying 😦 x

  4. I loved this post! I read your blogs fairly often and you’re always coming out with great stuff.
    I shared this on my facebook and my follwers loved it!
    Keep up fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

