Recipe of the Month: Savory Basting Sauce #AtoZchallenge

IMG_2028[1]Well since I am participating in the A to Z challenge this April, I needed a recipe that featured a B word. I have already done Banana Bread and Bean Chapula. Looking through my recipes, I found this one for Savory Basting Sauce. Growing up, I remember my Dad would always make this to go on the ribs he was grilling. It is a great “barbecue” sauce and will work on a variety of meats.

Ingredients

1 cup ketchup

1 cup Coke

1/2 cup of finely chopped onion

1 t. Tabasco sauce

1 1/4 t. garlic powder

1 1/4 T. Worcestershire sauce

Directions

Mix all ingredients in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil. Use on ribs, chicken or beef on the grill.

 

4 thoughts on “Recipe of the Month: Savory Basting Sauce #AtoZchallenge

  1. njmagas says:

    Your dad used Coke, mine used beer. I remember my shock the first time I saw him tip his cal into the sauce. I thought he was drunk. My mom had to explain it to me. I think after that I always tried to taste the alcohol, but never could.

    Nicky @ http://njmagas.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/b-is-for/

  2. This looks delicious. Have a lovely Wednesday.

  3. Brandon says:

    I love a good basting sauce. I will have to remember this recipe.

  4. Stopping by for the A-Z challenge. I have always just used a store bought BBQ sauce for ribs but this sounds interesting. I will have to try this out when I cook ribs next.

    Sean at His and Her Hobbies

Leave a Reply

