A is for Alexandria #AtoZChallenge

AToday begins the A to Z challenge for the month of April. The first letter is A which of course made me think about my current work in progress – Alexandria. (This is just the working title.)

After I published my first book, Summoned, I had the idea for another fantasy tale – again with a female main character. I put that idea on the back burner while I polished up Quietus (Book 2 in my The Elemental series). After that I wrote a short story prequel to my trilogy (The Search) and finally Destiny (Book 3) which was published over a year ago.

So as you can see, this story idea has been waiting for quite a while. I honestly thought I would be further along with Alexandria but I am still on the first draft. It was much easier writing Destiny as the world and characters were already developed. There was an ease to it which of course isn’t there as I write this story. I have had to build the world, create characters and strengthen the plot – all before I could begin writing.

For the first time ever, here is the opening paragraphs to Alexandria. As this is a work-in-progress, everything is liable to change before I am done.

The rough hand pressed firmly down over her mouth. Alista’s eyes flew open. With the moonlight behind the large figure, she couldn’t make out any details of the man hunched over her. But the foul odor of the man’s breath washed over her making her stomach flop. He rolled her onto her back, pinning her arm to the ground.

The vision hit as Alista struggled to reach her knife that lay just under her bedroll. She saw the man’s sinister smile as he attacked a woman. The images came fast of his past actions. Alista felt the fear of his victims, the pain he bestowed on them and his pleasure at his actions. Her stomach turned and tightened until she felt like she was going to vomit. Then just as quickly as it started, the vision ended.

The man moved on top of her, using his body to pin her to the ground. He moved his hand away from her mouth, caressing her jaw with his coarse fingers. Alista heard movement in the camp, but the man didn’t turn. The sound of someone rifling through her bag reached her just as her fingers found the cool handle of the blade.

Does Alista escape her attacker? I guess you will just have to wait for the book to come out – or check back on this blog for future excerpts.

7 thoughts on “A is for Alexandria #AtoZChallenge

  1. Nicole says:

    Love the title! And thanks for sharing the excerpt. Stopping by from the A to Z challenge. 🙂

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    A dark start. I’m hoping she does escape, otherwise there wouldn’t be much of a story! (Kidding… :P)

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

  3. Lisa says:

    Very dark, intriguing beginning to your story. I review books for The Kindle Book Review, so if you are ever looking to have one of your books reviewed, please let me know! Stopping by from A to Z.

  4. Meli Landry says:

    Happy A2Z! Best of luck in the challenge and your work in progress. 🙂 Cheers!

  5. lexacain says:

    Good description of Alista’s thoughts. I sue hope she not only escapes, but punishes her attacker.
    (“liked” the post)
    Lexa Cain’s Blog

  6. Elsie says:

    I love when the main character is a female bad butt! Rock and roll! Well written, you have me interested. My first book also has a female tough chick.

    Happy A-Zing!

    Elsie
    AJ’s wHooligan in the A-Z Challenge

  7. sunjhini says:

    Wow that’s gripping. I so want to know what happened next. 🙂 #atozchallenge

Leave a Reply

