Today’s Featured Author: Kathryn Lively

Today I welcome Kathryn Lively to my blog as we discuss being an author and her latest book, Killing the Kordovas.

Interview

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I am originally from Jacksonville, Florida, arguably one of the candidates for “birthplace of Southern Rock” (two of Molly Hatchet attended my high school, and bands like Lynyrd Skynyrd and The Allman Brothers have history here). I lived there for half my life, and now make my home in Southeastern Virginia. I’m never far from the sea.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

People who know me, those who’ve read my books, would say yes. The two mysteries in my rock and roll series (Rock Deadly, Rock Til You Drop) reflect a bit of my weird sense of humor and ability to recall pop trivia, and my mystery Pithed was inspired by my father’s experiences as a teacher. Friends say in my latest, Killing the Kordovas, they can “see me” in there, so I suppose that’s possible.

Have you started your next project? If so, can you share a little bit about your next book?

I am working on something different for a special call from a publisher. This is a sweet romance, something I haven’t done in a while, about two people who meet up at a sci-fi convention. It’s a little bit Big Bang Theory, and a bit Three’s Company. We’ll see how it turns out.

What is the best and worst advice you ever received? (regarding writing or publishing)

The best advice came from an English professor in college, who said if you love to write…write! Simple as that. I try to follow that advice daily. The worst came from my first publisher, who is no longer in business (for good reason). She once chastised me for promoting my book, saying that the publisher should handle that. Of course, the publisher did nothing to help, then later chastised me for not doing enough to self-promote!

Authors, you have to sell yourself. Never believe that you cannot promote your work.

How do you conceive your plot ideas?

My ideas come from the strangest places. I wish I could accurately describe the process, but more often than not it happens from spontaneous thoughts or events. A mystery I wrote under a pen name came about after reading the story of the theft of Charlie Chaplin’s corpse, and Rock Deadly came about after attending a convention for Rush (the band) fans.

Do you outline your books or just start writing?

It depends on the book. For a mystery, I do some plotting to make sure everything makes sense throughout the story. There needs to be structure in order to keep the reader guessing. Some books, like my current work in progress, happen in a more casual flow.

Please tell us about your current release.

Killing the Kordovas is the story of an author, frustrated by her stalled career, who cons her way into ghosting a novel for a reality TV star. She’s sick of talentless “celebutantes” getting all the breaks and loosely plans some kind of vengeance as she works, but soon the universe avenges her anger in a series of odd, tragic circumstances.

What inspired you to write this book?

I sometimes call my book the anti-Fifty Shades, because the mania over that book sort of inspired me to write this dark humor piece. I was inspired to write the stand-up comic aspect of the story after watching a few comedy specials (Louis CK, Jim Norton, etc.), and the publishing aspect just absorbing the experiences of fellow authors.

Did you base any of your characters on real people?

Well, with a book that features a celebrity family named Kordova, who are all on TV, I think you can guess their real-life counterparts.  I could say there’s a bit of me in the lead character Danni, too.

Is there a specific place in the house (or out of the house) that you like to write?

We own a blue recliner, where I sit with my laptop daily. I find it’s become more of a challenge to write on the fly, but if ever we get rid of that chair I will eventually adapt and find another place.

What book are you reading right now?

I just started The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg. I’ve not read any of the works in this series, and I stopped Stephanie Plum somewhere around nine or ten, so I’m interested to see if this is any good.

If you could meet two authors, who would you pick and why?

I wish I had the chance to have met Dick Francis. I’ve read nearly all of his mysteries and I wanted to let him know how he influenced. There’s still time, though, to meet Carrie Fisher. Postcards From the Edge cracked me up and helped me decide that I want to write with great humor.

Book Blurb

KillingtheKordovas200WARNING: This book contains rough language, spoilers for a possible sequel to Judy Blume’s Blubber, suggested lyrics for the theme to Sanford and Son, and one very mixed-up romance author.

Words come easily to writer Danni Hewitt. If only success did the same. The news of America’s latest reality sweetheart inking a major book deal sends Danni spiraling into depression, to the point where the idea of soothing her jealousy with a murderous rampage appeals to her.

Of course, this requires getting close enough to Krystal Kordova and her family to draw blood, something Danni achieves when she manages to land a job as Krystal’s ghostwriter.

Is the pen deadlier than the sword? Stick with Danni and find out.

About the Author

Kathryn Lively is an award-winning writer and editor, Slytherin, Big Bang Theorist, and Rush (the band) fan. She is an EPIC Award nominee and winner and has edited EPIC Award nominated titles for Phaze Books, Whiskey Creek Press, and FrancisIsidore ePress. She loves chocolate and British crisps and is still searching for a good US dealer of Japanese Kit Kat bars.

You can find out more about Kathryn on her website or blog. And don’t forget to follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

You can purchase Killing the Kordovas on Amazon.

 

Leave a Reply

