Searching for that hard to find gift

Lexie’s birthday was coming up and all she could think about was getting an Elsa doll from the movie Frozen. We saw the movie Thanksgiving weekend, and miraculously, she didn’t ask for anything from Frozen for Christmas.

However, by January after listening to the soundtrack almost non-stop, Lexie was on a major Frozen kick. She loves Elsa. And because I have been on the Disboards planning our Walt Disney World trip, I knew that Elsa merchandise was nearly impossible to find.

As soon as she batted those beautiful baby blues at me and declared that this was what she wanted most for her birthday, I started looking online – Amazon, Walmart, Toys R Us, and Target. And just as I feared, everyone was “out of stock” – or in the case of Amazon, they wanted four times what the item normally sold for.

I then went to the stores – and I mean A LOT of stores – looking for ANY Elsa toy. Every time I could find Anna dolls but not Elsa. You could find Anna dresses but not Elsa. Even with the Anna stuff, some of it was hard to find such as just a plain “Barbie” type doll. (I snagged one when I did find it – as well as an Elsa dress that I finally found at Target.)

dogs and birthday present 3Now I didn’t want to be waiting until the last minute and be scrambling to find her presents. Instead, I went the other way. I really worried about it too soon. I looked on E-bay and there were several toys on there for bidding. But in my mind, I was thinking if I wait too long, they could disappear from E-bay as well. So I began to occasionally bid on one or two dolls, always keeping my bids in a range that I thought was reasonable for the item. (I am NOT paying two to three times what the item is worth, but an extra $5 is not unreasonable.)

So I ended up paying $35 for a toy that would have been sold in the store for $30 normally. That doesn’t sound so bad, but then you have shipping of $8. Now it is $13 more than what it would be if I found it in the store.

Then a week after the item arrived (and still two weeks before Lexie’s birthday), I was in a store and just happened to look in the toy section. There was the exact doll that I had bought! There wasn’t much I could do about it now. I had already paid more for the item. As my husband keeps reminding me – just think of how happy Lexie will be when she opens that gift.

Still it annoys me that I rushed into ordering one rather than waiting. But I was concerned about not getting the doll for Lexie. Would she have survived without it? Of course. But to see her face light up – it was totally worth it.

It is one of those situations where if I didn’t order it, then it would have been my luck that I COULDN’T find it in the stores. The items are gone so fast. People are snatching them off the shelves not just for their kids, but so they can make money off other people on E-bay. Basically, if you see something on the shelves, and it is a popular toy – buy it. Don’t hesitate. (I did this when I found a bed comforter with Anna and Elsa on it. Lexie loved it!)

So did I learn my lesson? Will I hold off purchasing something my kids want at a higher price? Well, I might hold off another week or two next time, but I still will be trying my hardest to get them what they want. Yes, they are spoiled that way.

This is the third in a three-part birthday series. The first was about birthdays that fall during a holiday or vacation, and last week was about waiting for RSVPs

One thought on “Searching for that hard to find gift

  1. Joan Lindgren says:

    I’ve learned my lesson too. I’ve had to pay more for that””special gift” because I waited for it to go on sale.

Leave a Reply

