Taking the A to Z challenge

challengeI have never taken part of the A to Z challenge but saw many bloggers doing it last year. I was intrigued enough to put it on my calendar so that this year I could sign up for it.

For those of you who haven’t heard about it, the A to Z challenge began in 2010 when blogger Arlee Bird decided to write a post every day in April (except Sundays). Since there were 26 open days, he decided to match them to the alphabet like author Sue Grafton does her alphabet mystery series (A is for Alibi, B is Burglar and so on). On the first day, Arlee wrote about something starting with A, the next day B and so on through the letter Z. He challenged other bloggers to do the same, and the event is growing each year with bloggers all around the world participating.

Now the organizers suggest you come up with a theme to help you get through the challenge. I couldn’t think of a theme that I liked that would fit what I already post about on my blog. I typically post 4 out of the 7 days of the week with topics ranging from writing, publishing, parenting, quotes and featured authors.

So except for my Friday featured author spot, I plan to follow the challenge in my weekly writings. As for Friday, I will just add a second post on that day to meet the challenge. I can’t really expect my featured authors to adhere to the challenge rules. On the days that I don’t typically post, well, we will just see what I come up with for those days.

Those of you who want to know more about the challenge or to sign up, click here. And you can look for my A to Z challenge posts beginning April 1st.

2 thoughts on “Taking the A to Z challenge

  1. darkwriter67 says:

    Reblogged this on Illuminite Caliginosus and commented:
    It’s that time of year again. lol

  2. Damyanti says:

    Hey, thanks for joining in the challenge — I participated the second year of it’s running in 2011 and have been co-hosting it ever since. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

    Ps: Arlee or Lee is a man, just thought I’d let you know 🙂

Leave a Reply

