Today’s Featured Author: Karen D. Scioscia

Today I welcome author Karen D. Scioscia to my blog to discuss her book, Kidnapped by the Cartel.

Interview

Tell us a bit about yourself.  

It seems like I write all the time! I currently write a weekly column for The Charlotte Observer, contribute to Yahoo.com, have several stories published in magazines, write speeches for corporate executives, and am working on two books. My next book is in the true crime genre, about a serial killer (who is languishing in prison at this moment), and the other is a novel that contains a bit of paranormal. The information and thoughts for both of these books are constantly swirling about in my head. I am able to work on more than one project at a time, which astounds even me at times.

What or who inspired you to start writing? 

My father was a college professor (English and Speech) and wrote plays for children’s theater. My paternal grandmother wrote a weekly column in a Florida newspaper until her death at age 96. I think the love and desire to write is in my genes!

Please tell us about your current release. 

My current release, Kidnapped By the Cartel, was inspired by my niece’s abduction at the hands of the Mexican drug cartel. I was physically involved in the eleven day search for her. We were so devastated as a family with what happened, that I was originally going to write a true crime book. But in all of my research, including interviews with the San Diego Police Department, la Policia de Tijuana, and management and staff at various hospitals and rehab centers, I discovered that what had happened to my niece wasn’t an isolated incident. There were many such events – most often with the most horrific results. I compiled my research information along with some of the situations involving my niece, and, using my imagination, created a character, Amanda Tate. The result is a fast-paced, suspenseful, action-charged thriller about drugs, kidnappings, torture and the inside story of what Mexican drug cartels are all about.

What was the most difficult thing/scene to write in this story?

The scenes containing torture were the most difficult for me to write. I had to get outside of myself to graphically describe the gruesome, violent and blood-chilling methods of the cartel. I wanted readers to feel like they were right there with Amanda.

What book are you reading right now?  

Reading is a passion, and I always have more than one book going at the same time. I just finished Killing Jesus by Bill O’Reilly and Is Everyone Hanging Out without Me? by Mindy Kalin. Both were great. I’m starting David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell and Think: Why You Should Question Everything by Guy P. Harrison. Two of my all time favorite books are The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein and The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff. Both books make you think and say a lot in just a few words.

Tell us a random fact about you that we never would have guessed.

I love to dance and do some of my best dancing in my car while stopped at red lights.

Book Description

Latest BookA beautiful, young American woman was kidnapped and confined against her will in the putrid depths of Tijuana, Mexico. Drugged and tortured, she lived in constant fear for her life. Kidnapped by the Cartel opens the doors into the secret covens of Mexican Organized Crime, a terrifying place where many are lost forever. The slimy backstreets of Tijuana are graphically revealed as the disgusting, gruesome, and violent places they are known to be. The U.S. State Department has warned against non-essential travel along the United States/Mexico border, especially in the violent cities of Ciudad Juarez and Tijuana. This novel gives a taste of what goes on behind the fence.

You can purchase Kidnapped by the Cartel on Amazon and Barnes & Noble

You can find out more about Karen on her website.

Leave a Reply

