Today’s Featured Author: Dianne Harman

Today I have author Dianne Harman on my site for a quick Q&A session about her latest book Tea Party Teddy’s Legacy.

Interview

Where were you born and where do you call home?

I was born in Tacoma, Washington, grew up in Kansas City and have called Huntington Beach, California my home for many years.

What or who inspired you to start writing?

I have always been a reader, really from the time I had a library card before kindergarten! I was an English major in college many years ago. Never thought I had the necessary credentials to write – hadn’t attended workshops, critique groups, etc. My husband gave me a copy of Stephen King’s book, On Writing. He more or less says, “Just Do It” and so I did.

How much of yourself, your personality or your experiences, is in your books?

I don’t think you can be a writer of contemporary fiction and not have some of your thoughts and experiences in them. In Blue Coyote Motel, I write of a character who treks to Nepal to attend the Mani Rimdu Festival in the Himalayas. I did. In Tea Party Teddy I write of a political wife who has a woman come up to her when she’s sitting at the head table of the Boys & Girls Club Dinner and tell her it’s wonderful to see a politician not married to a “trophy wife” and who is even wearing the same outfit she wore to the event last years. Swell. That happened to me!

Please tell us about your current release.

My fourth book, published this month, is a novella, a sequel to Tea Party Teddy. The name is Tea Party Teddy’s Legacy. I never planned on writing a sequel, but so many people asked what happened to Nina and Bob, characters from Tea Party Teddy, that it demanded being written. It’s a short political thriller exposing greed and hunger for power in the political world.

What inspired you to write this book?

My husband was a California State Senator and I spent most of the twelve years he was in office in Sacramento, California entertaining Governors, Congressmen and politicians from both parties. I was “an insider” and had first-hand knowledge of just how much greed and corruption there is in politics

How did you come up with the title?

It’s the sequel to Tea Party Teddy, really the legacy he leaves. There’s a strong element of  romance and family life in the book as well as Teddy’s legacy of greed and corruption.

Which of your characters is your favorite? Do you dislike any of them?

Love Bob and Nina. Can’t stand the reverend. My favorite character in probably all of my books is the PI, Slade Kelly. He’s a reprobate, but I find him irresistible.

Can you tell us a little about the black moment in your book?

Sure. It will probably be easier if I just quote a few lines from the back of the book: “Will Bob and Nina be able to hold their family together? Will Slade Kelly, the well-known private investigator, be able to protect the Silva family from the reverend’s criminal plans? And just where do those babies come from that the reverend ‘places’ with families? And why is every television station in California and across the nation featuring Bob Silva as their lead story on the evening news?”

If you could jump in to any book, and live in that world, which would it be?

I spent some time in a small cottage in a small village in Provence very similar to where Elena lives in my book, Coyote in Provence. I loved the little cottage, the countryside, and the people.

Book Description

TPTL WED BELINDA KINDLE

The Sequel to Tea Party Teddy…

What happens when Bob Silva, who is married to the ex-wife of Tea Party Teddy, decides to run for the California State Assembly against the Reverend Jim Thurston, a devout Tea Party member? Will Reverend Jim seek revenge for the death of his friend, Tea Party Teddy? Will the Dear Reverend resort to criminal acts to try and win the election?

About the Author 

dianne harmonDianne Harman draws her stories and characters from a diverse business and personal background. She owned a national antique and art appraisal business for many years, leaving that industry and opening two yoga centers where she taught yoga and certified yoga instructors. Dianne has traveled extensively throughout the world, most recently dividing her time between Huntington Beach, California and Sacramento, California, where her husband was a Senator. A gourmet cook, she has entertained Governors, Congressmen and numerous other political figures in her homes. An avid reader, Dianne brings the richness of her life experiences to her novels, Blue Coyote Motel, Tea Party Teddy, Coyote in Provence, and Tea Party Teddy’s Legacy.

You can find out more about Dianne on her website or her blog. You can purchase Tea Party Teddy Legacy and all of Dianne’s books on Amazon.

One thought on “Today’s Featured Author: Dianne Harman

  1. Your site is beautiful. Thank you so much for having me as a guest!

Leave a Reply

